TIME LAPSE THURSDAY IS OPEN! (Nature Photo Contest)

IMG_2705 (2) SDL.jpg

To participate submit an original photo of nature that shows the movement of time (i.e. through long exposure), and a short description in a comment on this post. The contest is open until 9:00 AM EST, March 9. The winners will be announced tomorrow.

By submitting a photo, you agree to have it featured in the winners announcement post, and automatically entered in the weekly and monthly contests, should it be a winner. For a more detailed description of the Nature Photo Contest, please read the Introduction Post. Looking forward to your submissions! BE CREATIVE and shows us water in unique ways!

The judge in today’s contest is Macro (@eaglest). "I live in south Germany near the Blackforest ("Schwarzwald"). Since I was a kid I was fascinated by taking photographs, so I saved all my money and bought my first DSLR when I was 12. Later I used medium format cameras and developed the images in my own bw-laboratory. I love to travel and discover the world. I try to record those experiences and impressions with my camera by making landscape images. My dream is to make a world tour sometime..." - Marco

PRIZES AND PAYMENTS

The steem dollars of the winners announcement (to be posted tomorrow) at payout will be divided as follows:

Winners:
1st place: 20%
2nd place: 12%
3rd place: 7%
Seven honorable mentions: 3% each

Stewards:
Judge: 20%
Hostess: 20%

See also these stunning photo galleries featuring previous winners! Your upvote and resteem will bring a better reward for these great photographers, and will be much appreciated!

Trees Tuesday Winners Week 2
Mountains Monday Winners Week 2
Simple Sunday Winners Week 1
Flora and Fauna Friday Winners Week 1
Time Lapse Thursday Winners Week 1
Water Wednesday Winners Week 1
Trees Tuesday Winners Week 1

DAILY THEMES and judges for Week 2 (March 5 - 11)
Mountains Monday (@kieranstone)
Trees Tuesday (@jarvie)
Water Wednesday (@itchyfeetdonica)
Time Lapse Thursday (@eaglest)
Flora and Fauna Friday (@mariya-lorenz)
Simple Sunday (@raoul.poenar)

The WINNERS of WATER WEDNESDAY WEEK 2 will be announced later today! Stay tuned!!
For a current discussion on his contest, head over here - I'd love your feed-back!

Sort:  

OutbackCamping.jpg
There is some sense of peace to be found in isolation. I took this shot while remote outback camping in Mutawintji National Park, New South Wales, Australia. The intensity of the stars in outback Australia are something that need to be experienced to be believed. I shot this using a Canon EOS 6D with a manual focus Samyang 24mm f/1.4 ED at ISO 1600, f/1.4 and 20s exposure time.

Image taken by and remains the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Beautiful contrast between the warm fire and the cold vast night sky. When I look at this photo I can almost feel the outback ;)

CONGRATULATIONS on being a WINNER in the TIME LAPSE THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST WEEK 2! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

Proxy Falls in central Oregon. West of the pacific crest along the cascade mountains everything is very lush. There is an upper and lower proxy falls, this is the lower falls. They are both very impressive however the lower falls are wider. Easily the widest cascade waterfall I have come across.
newphotos%20096.jpg
click on image for full size

Wow, what a huge waterfall! Great idea to put a person in to show the dimensions...

CONGRATULATIONS on being a WINNER in the TIME LAPSE THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST WEEK 2! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

We are but a blip in time.
Star trails and milky way near Zion National Park.

20160403-DSC02089-Edit.jpg
click to view large

This is amazing!

Great combination of the milky way and star trails...

Thanks Marco!

CONGRATULATIONS on being a WINNER in the TIME LAPSE THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST WEEK 2! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

Grand Prismatic Spring..jpg

The Grand Prismatic Spring is located in the Yellowstone National Park is the largest source of hot springs in the United States. An incredible place with wonderful colors.

Photo taken with the camera panasonic lumix dmc-fz100

Beautiful photo but today is timelapse thursday. So you should only post longexposure photos...

@francismoure, thanks for participating! I encourage you to use this photo in next week's Water Wednesday contest! :)

Bonsai Rock Morning 1.jpg

Bonsai Rock, Lake Tahoe again... And shot the same morning as yesterdays's submission, but with a very different look! This Bonsai Rock photo was a 264 second long shot, taken about a half hour before sunrise. Long exposure shots like this are a lot of fun to take when I arrive at a sunrise location early.

The blue colors and the movement of the clouds are great...
The rock with two small trees fits nicely in.

Glad you liked that one @eaglest! It's a favorite spot on the lake that can have so many different looks to it.

CONGRATULATIONS on being a WINNER in the TIME LAPSE THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST WEEK 2! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

DSC_5972.jpg

Yosemite Creek, Yosemite National Park (USA).

Didn't have a tripod with me for this photo, so I had to brace the camera against a rail on the bridge overlooking the creek, and hold very still. :)

Settings: ISO 50, f/20, 2.0 s.

CONGRATULATIONS on being a WINNER in the TIME LAPSE THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST WEEK 2! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

I took this photo yesterday in Capitano Canyon Park in North Vancouver using a $5.00 app. called smooth reflections. I loaded it into my Sony a6000 and have been playing around with it for a while. It takes a number of photos and stitches them together in camera, giving you a similar effect to long exposure without the need for ND filters etc. For $5.00 what the heck?

DSC08215.JPG

CONGRATULATIONS on being a WINNER in the TIME LAPSE THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST WEEK 2! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

IMG_4773 (1).jpg

A great little spot in maui...one of a thousand waterfalls. I didn't have a tripod with me...so I perched my camera on a rock and snapped away.

CONGRATULATIONS on being a WINNER in the TIME LAPSE THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST WEEK 2! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

Feels like a tropical forest :) Taken in Slovenia

mitrovski-slap-3.jpg

I like the dreamy atmosphere...

thank you ! :)

CONGRATULATIONS on being a WINNER in the TIME LAPSE THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST WEEK 2! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.

This picture has been taken in the christmas evening. Me and my uncle wanted to experiment with a little fire action. We decided to go to this old mansion you can see in the backround. Here is the outcome!
image
Edit: I saw that it had to be nature long exposure contest. If this photo does not count then please let me know I`ll delete this and i will post this some other time.

That's a really creative photo you posted but the theme for today is nature. So I would expect something with nature in it like landscapes or so...

Yea i get it, sadly i cant delete it from here.

I agree with @eaglest, creative shot! Feel free to submit another photo for this contest if you wish. :)

Here is my

This is called Lake of I Wish or Miracle Lake.
The lake has done many miraculous things to people who believe in it.
I was happy I visited this lake for a tour..

BeautyPlus_20171227112606_save.jpg

Photo by Dmytro Korol
Click image to view large


Baltic Zen


The pastel colors are awesome. I also like the calmness of this photo...

CONGRATULATIONS on being a WINNER in the TIME LAPSE THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST WEEK 2! See the ANNOUNCEMENT POST.