Pruning Apple Trees

58259366-7955-4ea1-aa67-ad3488e91b15.jpeg


The Anna apple tree I pruned yesterday. I had to strip all of the leaves to force winter dormancy. Unfortunatley, we have had no frost hours here in my part of San Diego. Apples are pruned to a central leader and you try to create even layers of branches off the leader around the tree and vertically. Impossible to describe in a post haha. Take some pruning classes! It's such a fun and useful skill to add to your horticulture repitoire. Pruning and fruit tree care is so artistic too! I try to learn as much as I can about it each season so when I have land someday I can create an incredible food forest. I've had some fabulous teachers this year and more to come, thank you to my teachers old and new!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web