More Mycelial Madness

in #naturephotography6 years ago (edited)

I am in no way a mycologist nor a photographer. I just enjoy spending time looking at the little things in nature. All of these photos were taken during my time in and around Vancouver, British Columbia - which was over a period of a couple years around 2014.

I don't forage for fungi, as I am far from knowledgeable when it comes to what is edible. These photos are strictly for enjoyment purposes.

Fly Agaric / Amanita Muscaria
Fly Agaric, AKA Amanita Muscaria

Mushroom in BC
An insect's point of view of this little guy.

More mushrooms in BC
I don't know what these guys are, but I love the textures on the cap, and the family vibe.

Turkey Tail Mushrooms
Turkey Tail Mushrooms, AKA Trametes Versicolor

Can any of you mycology peeps identify either of the two in the middle?


All photos are property of @simgooder
Follow me on Steemit for more nature nerdisms

Sort:  

Not sure what the unknown mushroom types are, but I enjoy the photos. You say these are from Vancouver. Are you from that neck of the woods? I'm not too far away, and would be interested in learning a bit more about mycology and that side of nature. Always interesting seeing the Turkey Tail mushrooms around town though! Cool pictures!

Thanks dude! Actually, I'm from the Okanagan originally. Lived in Vancouver for a few years - now in Montreal! And you?

Oh crazy. I grew up in Kelowna, spent a bit of time in Calgary / Fort Mac, and Vancouver -- now I live in Victoria. I've got a couple buddies in Montreal working as stand up comedians. Small world!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @simgooder to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

These are some dope photos.. would love to see more like this... i'm thinking these would make dope paintings :)