Despite ups and downs, Isaiah Thomas excited for game against Warriors

in #nba6 years ago

After an irregular start of his return after an injury to the labrum of his right hip, Isaiah Thomas says that his recoil experienced in the last two games should not surprise.

"I knew this was going to be like that," the Cleveland Cavaliers base said after his Sunday practice. "Currently, I do not have full conditions in my legs. Therefore, it will take some time in order to recover the fullness of form. Even when I played well in those first two games, I told coach (Tyronn) Lue that he was not feeling well. It seemed to be consumptive joy. "

Thomas averaged 18 points in his first two encounters after his absence of seven and a half months (both ended in wins) and had 52 percent of runs from the field (13-25). In the last two encounters after that positive start (both losses by bulging markers), Thomas averaged 6.5 points and had 19.2 percent of catches (5-26).

"The ball went into the basket; however, none of my movements nor the things I usually do felt normal, "said Thomas. "That's how things will be for a while. I just have to be patient. I am my biggest critic; I'm not a patient person. That's why it's killing me that ... I want to be, I'm used to jumping on the court and being someone special. For now, I have to keep working. Work to return to full conditions, recover the shape of my legs and they return to play at a high level.

Thomas' personal difficulties coincide with Cleveland's worst run this season, falling in 8 of his last 11 games, prior to the NBA Finals game against the Golden State Warriors, to be held on Monday.

"It's kind of exciting," Thomas said, wondering what he wants in his first experience of the Cavaliers - Warriors rivalry. "(It will be a) high and intense match, the boys are really focused on that match and really want to win games like that. I'm excited for the opportunity to be able to play again after a few days of recess and also try to understand how to get that win. Currently, we are immersed in that way in which we need only one victory in order to regain confidence and our spirits to be high again. It is a great opportunity to face a high quality team and we will be ready for it ".