What was my favorite NBA Finals? 2011-2020

in #nba3 years ago

To me, I think the Finals have been pretty uneventful this past decade. Having been mostly dominated by the Warriors and whatever team Lebron was on, they just weren't all that entertaining. However, if I had to pick one that stood out among the rest it was the 2013 Finals which featured the Spurs vs. the Heat. I don't remember much about this series as it was 8 years ago now, but I do remember the Spurs being in the driver's seat to win the series being up by 5 points with about 30 seconds remaining. The image that sticks out in my mind is the Heat fans leaving the arena because they thought the game was over.

image.png

Little did they know, one of the greatest shots in the history of the NBA would soon be made. The Heat were able to make it a three point game and with one possession left the ball was left to Lebron James to take the final shot. He missed it, but Chris Bosh gathered the offensive board, dished it out to a backpeddling Ray Allen into the corner who tied it up to send the game to OT. The words don't seem to do the shot justice, so here is the video.

The Heat would go on to win the game and eventually the series, but I think it is not talked about often enough that Ray Allen saved the narrative of that Game 6 for Lebron. No one remembers how he missed the shot at the end of that game, we just remember Ray Allen's corner 3.

Comment below what some of your favorite NBA Finals have been!

Sort:  

If I get it right Spurs lost the series and came back the next year after to grab it from the Heat.
Yeah it was a collection of plays like this shot by Ray Allen that deliver the trophy.
LeBron did a lot but key guys did help him win all along just like the one from Kyrie.
It is a team sport after all.

That was the final I hate the most. They lost my Spurs, and how to forget that great Ray Allen shot

LeBum getting bailed out by one of the greatest shots of all time. Typical