I Designed a Crochet Lace Pattern

in #needlework2 years ago

Hey guys! Today I want to share with all of you a crochet lace pattern I designed this week. I have been making a lot of gloves lately, and I couldn’t find a pattern for lace that I liked. I have the pattern in a diagram because that is how I am most comfortable reading crochet patterns, but I know not everyone does that so tell me in the comments what you prefer.

Crochet Diagram.png

The pattern I am showing stops at only a couple rows because it is very time consuming to draw each row, but you can see that the pattern can be repeated indefinitely to make a whole piece of fabric, or stopped at only a couple rows to be used as an edging. I used this pattern in the round to make a glove, but it would look very pretty done around a handkerchief or something. I color coded the stitches to make it easier to read, and I was going to draw a version of the pattern with the rows color coded instead but I’m lazy so I hope you can still read it really easily.

For those that prefer row by row steps, here are some very basic instructions:

Row 1: Chain a multiple of 6 (this number only really matters when working in the round), and make one single crochet in each stitch.

IMG_20211211_235133043.jpg

Row 2: Chain 2 and do 3 double crochet in the closest single crochet, chain 2 and put a single crochet in the 3rd stitch from the first, repeat (Chain 2, skip 2 stitches and put 7 double crochet in the 3rd stitch, chain 2, skip 2 and put a single crochet in the 3rd stitch) until the end of the row.

Row 3: Chain 3, put a double crochet in the closest single crochet, chain 1, put a single crochet in the middle stitch in the double crochet cluster, repeat (chain 1, put a double crochet in the single crochet stitch, chain 2, put another double crochet in the same single crochet, chain 1, put a single crochet in the middle stitch in the cluster,) until the end of the row.

IMG_20211212_004515891.jpg

Row 4: Chain 3, repeat (put 7 double crochet on the chain 2 loop, chain 1, put a single crochet in the next single crochet, chain 1) until the end of the row. For the last cluster, only put 4 double crochet.

Rows 5+: repeat rows 3 and 4 until piece is the desired length.

IMG_20211212_034206275.jpg

While I’m here, I want to share some glove I made recently. The first one is really simple, I just made a chain around my wrist, did one row of half double crochets, and then did rows of double crochet for the length of it, increasing and decreasing in some places. For the thumb part, when it was long enough I just made a chain long enough to go over my thumb, and then skipped that many stitches, then kept going with my rounds.

IMG_20211209_230137541.jpg

The second glove I made was knit. I knit a rectangle, doing about an inch of ribbing on the top and bottom, and putting one cable spiral centered in one half of it. After that I sewed it into a tube, leaving room for a thumb hole open in the seam.

IMG_20211204_153914184.jpg

I really hope you guys liked this. If you are interested in seeing more of my creations, I post pictures of them semi-regularly on my Instagram, which is @cass_the_biblophile, so I totally recommend following me. Also, please leave a comment so that I know you read it. Peace, and I hope you are all doing well.

Sort:  

Wow! I love this, it's looking cool.can i ask what can of wool you make use of because it looking exceptional and comfortable.

I'm gonna be honest, I have no clue what kind of yarn I used for the gloves, but I'm pretty sure the thread I am crocheting with is cotton.

Alright I really love it... Keep the good work

Thank you so much!

I like the gloves. I feel like you could incorporate them into a sweater sleeve for a style that goes over your thumbs.

That sounds like a great idea! I really want to crochet a sweater now...

You know you'll have to share it with us if you do. So don't forget to take photos. 😉

I will do my best! No promises lol

Congratulations @cassidydawn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 500 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 1000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @cassidydawn, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got an important support from the community and is close to be funded. However, it misses a few votes to get past the return proposal and your could make the difference!

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you!