Teaching a Younger Friend How to Crochet

in #needlework2 years ago

Hey guys! So earlier today I spent a couple hours teaching a young girl how to crochet. I met her because my mom knows her parents, and they are very artistic people. She has grown up doing a lot of advanced arts and crafts, and she is super intelligent and learns fast. I was so excited to teach her how to crochet; I love teaching people so much!

IMG_20220113_194026475.jpg

She reminds me a lot of myself when I was that age, and I talked with her about how difficult it is to find friends with similar interests at that age, because not a lot of kids are into advanced arts and crafts at 10. She told me that she also has trouble finding friends that like transformers like she does.

She showed me her entire transformers collection, which was super cool. She also showed me all the super cool Lego stuff she has. I failed to take pictures of any of this because I was distracted, but there was a Lego statue of a 6 inch tall dinosaur in the middle of her Lego table and I loved it so much! I also got to see her epic fossil collection, with dinosaur teeth!! They were so cool!

I brought a large yarn to teach her with because bigger yarn is exponentially easier to work with. So the first thing I taught her was naturally a slip not. Then I showed her how to do chain stitches. It took her a few minutes to get these down, as to be expected, but she still got them fairly quickly.

Next I showed her how to do a single crochet stitch, and we spent a while practicing this stitch. After that I showed her how to start crocheting in the round, and showed her how to do a double crochet stitch. She picked this up super fast, I was so proud of her! I left her some chunky yarn and a hook to practice stitches on while I’m gone.

After this I had to go home, but I plan on going back next week to show her more stitches, and how to read crochet patterns and diagrams. I am going to write down some Irish motif patterns to bring for her next time. I had a great time with her, and I’m super excited to be teaching someone. I apologize for the lack of cool photos. I hope you all have a great next 24 hours, and maybe get inspired to teach someone else one of your hobbies.