Needlework WIP: Round Crochet Sling Bag

in #needlework5 years ago

Today is supposed to be full offline mode for me since it's our anniversary. I did log off for about half the day primarily because I prepared some food for the family. And by family I meant the three of us. We can't have friends coming over yet because hubby seems to show symptoms of measles. We'll confirm this first with his doctor tomorrow.

Anyways, since he's already asleep, I went ahead and continued with my project, My Round Crochet sling bag. It's still a work in progress but I'll give a glimpse of what I'm doing.

I'm aiming for a colorful round sling bag so the whole thong is basically just a pattern of increasing half double crochets per round. But let mw show you guys the starting round.

I start with what we call the magic loop. I have worked with a couple of projects using this style but most of the time I look for videos to guide me with the process. But today, not only did I not need a video guide, I was also able to take photos of the process. (I'm still having trouble doing it smoothly for a video tutorial) 😅

How to make a Magic Loop

image

I double yarned for my project. 😊

  1. Wrap the yarn around your index finger and middle finger. The tail end (or the loose end) of your yarn should be held by your thumb. The working end (or the part of the yarn you'll be working on should be held together by your ring finger and pinky.

  2. Insert the hook under the bottom yarn end as shown on the figure above.

  3. Pull the upper yarn as shown on figure number 3 above.

  4. Make a chain with your working end of the yarn.

  5. You should have a noose-like loop as seen on figure number 5 above. You'll know you are doing it correctly if your loop tightens as you pull the tail end. Just don't pull too much. You'll need the loop to be loose as you work on your first round.

And that is how to make a Magic Loop. Note that I am a left handed, so all of the images are shown as how a leftie like me crochets.

image

Once you've made your magic loop, you can now start with your first round. It may be a round of dc's or hdc's. My pattern will use hdc's for the entire rounds.

image

I made 8 hdc's for the first round. Notice how tight the center part is after I've pulled the tail end.

The rest of the rounds are just increasing hdc's. I am done with the front part. I am currently working on the back portion of the bag.

image

I haven't done any major projects so far since my daughter's Moana costume and I am excited to see this one come together.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥

image

image

image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq