#NeedleWorkMonday. Leather Sandals.

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

PicsArt_05-21-09.37.47.png

I am so excited to participate in my first #NeedleWorkMonday!

Thank you @crosheille for organizing!

This week, we were encouraged to share two people who do needle work, who have inspired us.

For me, its definitely my mom amd my great grandma Ruby!

Ruby taught my mom how to sew, knit, crochet, can, cook, garden, etc etc etc.

FB_IMG_1526952545866.jpg
(This is one of my mom's forst 4H sewing projects. She won first prize!)

Together they would work on 4H sewing projects. Ruby would make lots of my mom's and her sister's clothing.

FB_IMG_1526952663067.jpg
(my aunt, aunt, grandmother, unknown, and my mom. Mom & her sisters outfits were Ruby's State Fair sewing entries.)

The "Ruby gene", as we call it was passed down luckily to my mom, then myself.
My mom sewn most of mine and my siblings clothes when we were little. As well as her own!
She has been helping to teach my daughters embroidery and sewing.

FB_IMG_1526952703118.jpg
(mom, Ruby, aunt, aunt, all in outfits Ruby made for them)

〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰

This past week I have been working on drafting a soft soled shoe-sandal pattern. I make soft soled shoes out of fabric and suede as a hobby business. But I had yet to venture into sandals and 100% leather work.

@themyrrhmaid gifted this gorgeous piece of soft supple leather to me. I knew It was destined for shoes for @hippiebaby.

20180521_104611.jpg

After lots of measuring and cutting, I created the first draft of my pattern.

20180521_104703.jpg20180521_202425.jpg20180521_203026.jpg

Here is the first prototype on @hippiebaby's sweet fat little foot!

20180521_203439.jpg20180521_203451.jpg

Im excited to see where I end up with this pattern! Thanks for reading!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

I really appreciate your posts. They have quality content, are personal, and interesting. That is a formula to sucess here on steemit. I encourage to write more often and also interact with other steemians whose work you enjoy with thoughtful comments.

Yay!!! You’re here!! 😄 Welcome to #NeedleWorkMonday!!!! I am so glad you wrote your first post today!! It’s so good to have you!

I love the pictures you shared of your family. I am ashamed to admit I was embarrassed to wear my mother’s clothing she sewed for us when I was in junior high. All the pressure to wear name brand clothing and getting laughed at when you wore custom made clothing got the best of me. I didn’t appreciate then as much as I do now. I love hearing how these wonderful skills get passed down from generation to generation!

I love the leather baby shoes! It was neat to see the prototype. That’s one thing we we love to see, the process of ones creations. Thank you for sharing what you’re working on and thank you for sharing with us who has inspired you! Looking forward to seeing more from you :D 💕

Thanks @crosheille!

I think the same happened when my siblings hit middle school age.. Plus, consignment stores became a thing. So mom was able to buy clothes for cheaper than she could sew them any more.

Im looking forward to starting prototype #2... But just getting around tonfinishing SHOE #2 will be a feat 😂

That is true about the consignment stores!

Haaa! Well I’ll be looking out for an update post whenever it happens!!! 😄😉

@corrielaine WOW, your machine will handle leather! These Sandals are CUTE, and so is hippiebaby! :)

Well, actually this machine (borrowed my moms) hates leather...haha! But i convinced it to do this much.

My regular machine does leather pretty well..... When it will turn on.

This leather is super soft and pretty thin... Lile those soft, thin, deer skin work gloves?

Rats! I was hoping the machine problem was solved. The gathers on the back for the elastic look hard, but the sandals sure look comfortable. I'm sure hippybaby will get a lot of use from them! Just in time for summer. :)

Is the myrrmaid okay, she hasn't been posting? I know she has more important work right now, just a little concerned.

Nope! I wish... But Ive been procrastinating getting them fixed... Aka havent found q good repair man.

The gathering is just a basic elastic casing, the elastic gathers it. Its super soft and comfy :)

@themyrrhmaid is doing ok. Im sure she will update when she can. Just lots of stuff going on over there. She is still pregnant, and both mares have foaled!

these are beautiful, perfect for little feet, really nice design and nice to learn a bit more about you and your family.

Thanks @trucklife-family!

Im hoping to perfect the pattern in this size, then work on sizing it in other sizes.
#hippiedaughter3 needs summer sandals too!

That is so cool and such a great idea! I love that you can make the baby some shoes!! Thanks for sharing them with us. :) Did you use a thick needle or a denim needle to sew through the leather?

Ive been making soft soled shoes (newborn through 4t toddler) for the past 5 years :)
Ive taken a bit of a break this past year though.

I used a leather needle. Cotton thread on this one, because the machine didnt like the heavy duty thread i was trying to,use.

This is awesome! I am wanting to make one of these my baby girl. She's almost crawling now and soon she's going to need leather sandals. Well, I have to get soft leather first I guess.

Hubby and I have minimalistic shoes now since we have problems using regular commercial shoes that crimps your toes.

Anyway, this is really awesome! Can you DM me the pattern? :D

@lovenfreedom thanks! They have been fun to create.

The pattern is my own drafting, but there is a free soft soled shoe pattern here that could be altered into sandals.
https://www.google.com/url?q=http://darlingdiapers.com/SDminimocfinal2.PDF&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwio9MKQ7pvbAhWjzlkKHQEYDDwQFggUMAE&usg=AOvVaw1i4FQ3HTjgccY6cALnECvt

Those shoes are amazing! I bet they are super comfy too!
I want something like that. ♥ I just need to find a source of soft leather. I have been wanting to wear shoes that are not as encumbering as regular tennis shoes... I bet it wouldnt be too hard to take your pattern and enlarge it.

Hey, super cute sandals.

Super impressive.

Congrats on your first submission for needleworkmonday! The little shoes and foot is soooooo adorable! Upvoted!

Thank you!❤

Welcome @corrielaine! You are going to love it here 😊 Such cute feet in the cute leather sandals! Thank you for sharing your story and steps!