Needlework Monday - Crochet Baby Photoshoot!!!

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

42A8E5E8-63A5-4B36-BB06-077260F8308D.jpeg

Hello there my fellow needle crafters!!! Happy #NeedleWorkMonday to you! As promised I am sharing with you today pictures of our brand new baby girl all wrapped and snuggled in her finished crocheted blanket! I am thankful I got it finished before she arrived.

I was also able to make a few hats for her as well as some lounging pants. Unfortunately we will be passing along the hats sooner than expected because we weren’t expecting her to be so big lol! I mainly made the hats for picture purposes anyway so it works out.

C3E4D3AA-63CF-4D75-9C60-A57D4D3DD4B3.png

Snuggly Cuddly

3BE9DCB0-2845-410C-8078-5CB7E46E0CF1.jpeg

2E6E8C56-E1A1-4114-A107-50600F3701A2.jpeg

Since we are in our hot season right now we will mainly use this blanket to cover her car seat when it’s sunny outside. I will also be using it for her tummy time. I am happy with the way it turned out and I’m glad I gave multiple colors a chance for a blanket. Not sure if I will ever make this blanket again because it’s so time consuming but I will be passing it on once she outgrows it.

8B01FAC7-144F-4127-8287-D250511ADC2A.png

Blocking

3651D21E-AC30-44DC-9B3C-3C85F35F17D1.jpeg

So before #NeedleWorkMonday I have never been worried about my finished crocheted items. There were times when it irked me to see my blankets unaligned or shriveled up a little but never enough to cause me to want to block my work. After finding out that some of you block your work and actually seeing the results I really wanted to give it a try this time. In case you don’t know what blocking your crochet work means, it is basically adding moisture into the fabric in order to finish it. The moisture helps it to hold its shape and to be stretched to the desired size.

I read that acrylic yarn has to be treated differently than cotton. Instead of washing acrylic it’s best to use steam. I pinned the blanket to the rug in our room and then I used the iron to apply steam all over the blanket. I left it pinned overnight and the difference it made is amazing! You can see the before and after pinning in the pic above. It pretty much stayed the same way once I took out the pins. I will definitely be using this method from now on, especially when I’m making items for clients.

D946456A-E96D-41C8-9648-BA8D9A7CD960.png

Hat & Pants

86F96E33-2867-4419-A17D-7A5D9137C885.jpeg

Here’s a few shots of her wearing the hats I showed you last week as well as her lounging pants. I’m so glad she fits her pants pretty loosely and that they are breathable. I made them pretty long so she’ll have some room to grow in them.

C6768FD4-179A-4751-BE2A-DB615BAFD939.jpeg

4228F055-8A04-44C8-8314-DB4A091C4D4F.jpeg

Thank you for viewing the photoshoot! I will get back to my ’Crochet with CroSheille’ series in a few weeks after recovery so stay tuned~

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

The blanket turned out wonderfully and she is absolutely gorgeous! If I ever crochet a blanket, I will use the blocking technique you talked about! Those lounging pants are adorable! Enjoy these precious first weeks with your new daughter!

Awww thanks so much! ☺️ We are all enjoying her. I know you will love the outcome of the blocking method!

Oh how lovely (hat, blankie and baby model)!

Such a princess mama! My baby girl's 8 months now and she's active so she's starting to thin out some. I love newborn babies! I can just watch them sleep and smile.

Take care of yourself @crosheille! Hope you're still staying in bed :p

Thank you!! Awww yes 8 months is a fun active age! I love watching newborns sleep and smile too~

Oh yes I’m resting up as much as I can. 😉

Omg they’re amazing!! Like I said on the other mamas blanket crochets I unfortunately find crocheting a bit too stressful because it doesn’t give me the “reward” fast enough haha and when I stuff up I stress out! But I loooove other people’s amazing work! wow I love the hats with the rose and the lounge pants so good!

Thank you so much! Lol yes crocheting takes some patience because projects do take awhile to work up sometimes. I really appreciate the love!! 😊

omg, how beautiful that princess. I congratulate you on that beautiful crochet work, and I liked the combination of colors.

Thank you very much! 💜

Congratulations @crosheille - I am sure your little baby girl will love the blankets.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Thank you so much @pennsif! She’s finally here!! 😃

Your baby looks adorable. It is great that you have the creativity and ability to make something that your children will enjoy for many years.

Thank you so much! I am glad that I can make my children some things by hand, it is really special to me :)

Yeah! Nice, now you use the blanket. And the hats with 3 dimensional flower are so sweet. I wish I knew it when I delivered my daughter ... ;)

Oh yes I will definitely use the blanket! Thank you!! I didn’t know how to crochet when I had my first daughter so it’s pretty nice being able to make some girly stuff for our second girl :)

Awww, the blanket came out really good but that little sweety steals the whole show :) 💚

Thank you! Haaa I have to agree, she does!! 😄💕

Wow...that blanket came out SO gorgeous! And so did the hats and pants. But you do have the cutest little model for all of it! 😉
Congrats again and hope you all are getting some rest!

Thank you!! I’m so relieved I got them done in time :)

I’m trying to take advantage of rest moments ;)

She sure is looking adorable and the blankets and the clothes does looks much more amazing .

Nice work done :)

Thank you for such nice feedback! You’re appreciated :)

Lovely photos of your beautiful baby with so many wonderful crocheted items @crosheille 🌹 🌹 🌹

Years ago I remember using steam to make a woollen jumper sleeve seam go flatter but have never tried that on acrylic. In fact I have never really blocked any crocheted things I've made, but I can see the difference in your blanket. In the future it would be great to see a video about blocking ... Thanks 🌸

Thank you @cryptocariad! I’m so glad I was able to make them.

I am really amazed at how the blocking straightened out the crooked edges. You just have to be careful not to let the iron touch the yarn or it will melt your work. I held the iron about 3 inches away from the blanket.

I think that’s a great tutorial idea!! Thank you for that and I will make a note to do one on blocking!!! 😃👌🏽

Thank you @crosheille... I look forward to it.

Congratulations, @crosheille! She is so adorable and precious! The blanket, the hats, and the pant are pretty because of her!

Thank you!! I’d have to agree that she makes the crochet items look pretty~ ☺️

Oh my gosh! Precious 😍😍

😄😄😄 Thank you!

She is beautiful....and just look at all that hair! And a pretty little model for all her mom's crocheted creations!

Thank you @anise! It was funny because my midwife was amazed at all of the hair she saw when she first started crowning lol! She kept saying “omg like at this hair”! It’s starting to curl already.

Yes she’s gonna be my little model now!! 😁😁😁

Yeah! I love her hair as well.

Thanks @wondermaey! It’s so thick and shiny! 😍

Oh, Cynthia !!!! babe just beautiful !! the plaid looks wonderful. thanks for telling us how you leveled it. recover faster !!!!!

Thank you Tala!! I hope I recover fast too...although right now it feels it will be a longer one. 😓

She is soooooo beautiful @crosheille! Congratulations! And the blanket and hats and lounge pants look so pretty and cosy on her.

Thank you so very much! She seems to really like the pants lol! 😄

I love the pants, I need some for me! Everything turned out beautifully, and a lovely baby, too. Hope you are getting some rest and recovery time. Best wishes to your family.

Thank you @shanibeer! Lol they do look cozy, I wouldn’t mind having a pair either!! 😄

I am trying to take advantage of rest time especially because I think I will need a few weeks to recover. Thank you~ 💜

Sooo cute!!!! So lovely photos of your little beauty. She looks like a sweet little doll with the pink trousers (she looks so small, I can hardly believe she was so big when you gave birth)
And finally we can see the blanket in action and it was really worth all you effort, the colours work great together (but I understand you nevertheless: a blanket is really big and needs so much time)
I hope you recover fast: I send you both my love <3

Awww thanks so much!! I know it’s hard to believe how big she was. By the time we left the hospital she was down to 8 lb 14 oz. She’s still a chunk but not as swole as she was.

Yes the blanket was worth the time and I’m really glad I stuck with it.

Thank you, I’m slowly feeling like myself again. 😉

Congratulations on your baby girl @crosheille! She is absolutely adorable! :) :)

Thank you so much @lil-mich! We are so glad she’s finally here with us :D

Congratulations @crocheille on your cute addition to the family :D She's so adorable that anything would look great on her, but she looks extra happy with mama's creations!

I don't know where you find time for steeming and crocheting, but please don't stop, you are an inspiration!

Congratulations once more on your baby girl!

Awwww wow thank you so much for such sweet comments! It was fun dressing her up with all of the crocheting I’ve been doing :D

Lol I get that a lot! Planning ahead is what helps me to keep going. It’s seems once I’m done with one idea 3 more have already surfaced my brain. Taking pics in advance and writing down notes for posts have helped me be able to keep Steeming regularly. With crocheting it could be in the middle of the night that I get an urge to make something or come up with my next plan and I pretty much push myself to get it done. Once I have my mind set on trying something I usually stick to it until it’s accomplished.

Thank you for the encouragement it means a great deal to me!!! 💜

I think starting and then sticking to it is the secret... sometimes it's the hardest part!
Looking forward to some more beautiful posts from you :D Have a lovely weekend!

That is very true! So many other things come up and we get off track sometimes. You have a lovely weekend as well! 😉

😍😍😍😍OMG can my eyes get any wider right now! I am so glad you delivered safely and your baby is too cute for words. At this rate your home is filled with cutenesses (I definitely remember the cuteness that made way with your yarn)
Yep, you are right those hats will soon be outgrown, But she wears them so adorably. I definitely love the pants on her as well
Also the blocking you did is quite nice, I see the colour is brightened. We would love for you to recover beautifully so the tutorials can resume. Thanks for sharing such adorable photos of your beautiful cuteness 🙂.

LOL thank you so much my dear!! She’s got us all blushing over here. ☺️

Yes I’ll be passing on those hats really soon but I am glad she can wear the pants for some time.

I am really thrilled about the blocking method! Lol I think it’s the way I edited the pictures this time, the blanket is still the same color it just looks bolder. I look forward to getting back to the tutorials soon~ 💓 Thank you.

It makes me happy to see that we both present our crocheted blankets! 💖🌹🤗🌹💖

Absolutely! 😉💗

Awww! Congrats to you! She's so cute in her blanket and hats and pants! I love the giant flowers on her tiny head! 💚

Thank you!! I’ve always loved the look of oversized embellishments on babies. 😍

Deep breath...
Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
❣❣❣❣❣
The blanket turned out great, and the blocking sure made a difference.
And those hats... so much cute! The pants are definitely going to last longer than the hats but not much longer.
I hope you are getting some rest and recovery time!

Haaaaa thank you!!!!! 😄 I’m glad you like the items! Yes blocking is amazing and I’m glad I gave it a try! It will be a long recovery for me but I’m taking it easy. 😉

Oh my goodness---two things that you have been working on for a long time, in one photo! Hee hee hee. What a gorgeous model for your finished blanket. CONGRATULATIONS!! The advice on blocking is pretty nifty, too. Enjoy your new baby!!

Haaaa that was funny and so true. The two things I’ve been working on right in one photo!! 😁

Thank you so much! She’s melting our hears over here. 🤗

Too cute! Update!!! I sold a lamp today on Etsy! Wooo Hoooo!

Aghhhhhh!! Whooo Hooo!!!! Yay Congratulations!! I hope there will be many more sells!!! 🤩🎉

Look at those pretty eyes!! I'm so happy to see some more pictures of your sweet baby girl! She's precious!! Love the blanket too - you should keep it forever and she can pass it on to her baby girl someday!! :) The pants are really adorable, and I also love how the hats look on her. I just love a sleeping baby. :)

Thank you!! I thought about that, keeping the blanket this round...I could do that! I’m glad you like the crochet items! I love a sleeping baby too! 😀🤗

Look at those pretty eyes!! I'm so happy to see some more pictures of your sweet baby girl! She's precious!! Love the blanket too - you should keep it forever and she can pass it on to her baby girl someday!! :) The pants are really adorable, and I also love how the hats look on her. I just love a sleeping baby. :)

I love the before/after blocking comparison. I'm reading Lily Chin's "Couture Crochet" now and she talks about the wonders steam can do. Also, baby girl is just beautiful!

Thank you!! ☺️

I am really impressed with the blocking method! I plan on doing it from now on...at least with bigger projects.

Wow, they are amazing! Fabulous work! I dont know how you managed to make such a beautiful post right after birth, but you go girl! ♥

I know you are probably tired of hearing it already, ;) but your baby is beautiful!! ♥♥

Thank you so much!! Haaa I already had the post envisioned in my head and some of the photos (the blocking ones) were already ready to go. Planning ahead is what helps me keep going! 😉

Nope, I’m not tired of hearing that at all LOL!!! 😂☺️ Thank you~ 💗

Haha! ♥
Great job planning ahead then! I need to get better at that, and I would probably have more of my sanity left...
Have a great weekend!

Haaa! You really would!! 😁😄

Congratulations for your new baby. It's a baby beauty. Welcome princess, may your days be of joy and love. It's a very tender publication, everything you did to it is beautiful. Blessings always

Thank you kindly!! 😊 She’s bringing us much joy already ~

That baby😍😍😍😍

The blanket is just perfect!

Thank you so much!! ☺️😃💗

HI @crosheille, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here

Join us on Mondays for Creatives' Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Ramble on Discord.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you!!!

So adorable! I have always loved the crochet items in baby shoots. Have sold a lot of these items in my webshop when I still had that. Amazing things you can create.. I have never been able to make something myself though :) I loved going through this post.. thanks for sharing:)

Thank you so much!! Baby items are my favorite! 😊

I’m so glad you enjoyed viewing!!!