You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TALENTS AND SKILLS - KNOWING THE DIFFERENCE ON NEEDLEWORKMONDAY

That brings back memories for sure. They put a needle in my small hands before I even learned to read. Started out with sewing on buttons. Moved on to needle point stitches. I still remember the mess I would make of a french knot. Crochet came next had to pull out a few stitches there as well.
It has been years since I have done anything like that. Moved on to other things and just never got back to it. You remind me of how soothing it can be, almost meditative.
Do you ever sell your stuff? I bet you would do well on Etsy.

Sort:  

Embroidery was certainly painful at school - hot, sticky hands; materials that wouldn't co-operate. When I was volunteering in a school we did some simple sewing with the children (six and seven year olds). They thought it was hilarious that they kept dropping the needle and someone might sit on it!

Yikes! I remember volunteering at my daughters kindergarten. On the first day they handed me craft supplies and a group of kids. I(t was an interesting year to say the least.

Wow! Did you catch on or struggle? Having a good teacher makes all the difference. My mother is not the right teacher for me which is probably why I was an adult by the time I learned. It is soothing - unless it's an order - then it ends up being stressful! I do sell off my fb page (Buckaroo Baby - the first one. There are dozens since I started). I've never tried Etsy or international marketing as our South African systems (postal etc) are so corrupt the stuff usually never reaches it's destination

My Aunt was my teacher. She did have me pulling out stitches more than once. Looking back I wonder why it wasn't her pulling out her hair lol
That is a shame about the postal system. I never noticed it much but now I see. Even though I have shipped all over the place my views from that area never turn to a sell. That could explain it.

Sounds like you also had a level headed aunt