Tying up Loose Ends

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

After weeks of feeling ho hum, I'm finally ready to start thinking about a new project. But first, I had to finish up a few things I stumbled across while sorting through my stuff.

IMG_2656.JPG

These mitts were originally made for the art tour, but I decided they weren't up to snuff. The size was pretty large, and I don't know a lot of men that would like half mittens. However, I felt they were too nice to toss, so I finished them and gave them to a friend who is not so excited by them. He's decided he is going to keep them in my car for some strange reason. :)

IMG_2700.JPG

Also, I perked up an old shirt that was looking very drab and stealing all the life out of my winter pale skin. So, I over-dyed the yellow/green with turquoise, and I think I might like it better now. Unfortunately, I didn't have enough foresight to get a photo before dyeing, but I deem it a success.

I used Procion dye. First, I made a solution of hot water with salt and dye. I stirred my shirt in this mixture for about fifteen minutes. Then, I removed the shirt and spun out the excess water. I added soda ash and mixed it well. Then, it was time to add the shirt again. For the next hour, I stirred the pot every four or five minutes. Finally, I took the garment out and rinsed it with hot water. I gave it a light wash, and it is still wet in the picture.

IMG_2661.JPG

I finally brought home my sweater from the gallery. Something is nagging at me that I might add to it, but I'm not sure yet. They displayed it very well for the show, and I ran in the last week to grab a shot.

Sort:  

A lot of people don't get fingerless mitts till they tried it - they're great for "not really cold" weather.

And I have to repeat: I love your proficiency with stranded knitting. I'll try it again in the future, perhaps with mitts, too. A small and easy project per se with only the thumb wedge (right word? My knitting English still has gaps), the difficulty would be in the colorwork.

Thanks @muscara, and I agree about the half mitts especially when I don’t live in a really cold climate.
I think thumb wedge is a perfect term.

Congratulations @kimmac! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Your shirt's new color is nice and sire sounds like it took some work to set that dye. I don't understand why your friend isn't thrilled by those beautiful mitts! But storing them in your car will let you use them as needed as well...

Thanks @jamethiel! The dyeing took time, but not so much work. Kind of like stirring some dish on the stove, but fortunately no heat was needed for this type of dye, so the pot was in the bathtub. 🙂
Who knows if the mitts will ever be worn, but I feel good for finishing them.

I always like seeing your use of colour, @kimmac .

Thanks so much @cryptocariad!

Your shirt has a wonderful colour now. Did you also painted the flowers or were they already on the shirt? The dye process is interesting, as I so far only used acid colours (which I guess would not have worked on your shirt?) And the mittens are beautiful, but I have to admit, I am also not fingerless mitten user :-DDD THe fingers are always the part which gets coldest, so I want all or nothing :-D
The cardigan is still amazing , the pattern, the colours... wow. Perhaps it is simply missing a person which is wearing it 💕

Thanks @neumannsalva! The shirt had a silkscreened pattern on it. The kind with the textile paint lays on top and doesn’t bond with the fabric. I knew the pattern wouldn’t get muted in the dyeing process because of that.
You are probably right that the sweater is missing a person. 🙂 Maybe I’ll wear it today.

@kimmac, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

I love the cardigan, it looks beautiful - the style as well as the colourwork. It is nicely displayed, too. It's good to get things tidied up and out of the way. Sometimes, clutter and leftovers are what inhibit me 😊

Thanks @shanibeer! I fiddled around yesterday with ideas for a new project.

Congratulations @kimmac! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!