2 of So many shades of green : Afghan

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago

Hello Steemit Friends,

As you may or may not remember, I have been working on the Afghan that is many shades of green. This Afghan is for my Loving Daddy who's favorite color is green.

When is started this project I started working with MY favorite type of yarn for Afghans', Caron Cake. On the first go around I started with light green skeins of Caron Cake. I made it through 1, almost 2 skeins of the light when I realized I wasn't really happy with my work. One, I had been going through the chain instead of going through the hole so it wasn't creating the right offset look. Two, because I had been going into the chain it was hard for me to tell where to put the last stitch of the row. With this delimma it caused me to add a few too many stitches on each end of a couple several rows.

I took a break from this project and found the beautiful dark greens skein of Caron Cake and had to have it. Then I knew it was time to start the project over.
I needed to create a better product for my dad. So I started over and am happy to say that I have finally finished the first BIG Caron Cake of dark greens. Now I'm ripping out the light greens to add to my dark greens and what do you know? Somewhere along the last 5 or so rows I've skipped a stitch and instead of 106 posts I have 105.

I said to myself "If I can help it, will NOT have a mistake in this pattern so RIP IT OUT!!!"

Then I said it's break time on this project till Wednesday.

BD87F895-DB5C-445E-82E6-17BE5DFAE51D.jpg

Thank you for following my Crochet story,

BE Creative
BE Consistent
BE YOU

Sort:  

I love the dark green caron! Such nice shades :) i hate that feeling when you know youve made an error - guaranteed your dad wont notice, but it always draws your own eye! Have you considered bordering the afghan, then at least your additional stitches wont be obvious - it should even out. When i was doing my filet jumpers, each one has one mistake in them, where instead of creating a square with the dc, ch1, ive made a triangle by forgetting the ch1. Its essentially a decrease and i was able to fix it in a later row, but my head knows its there and looks it out! You are doing great though and that bvlanket looks like it will be so warm!

@kimbolo86 I'm actually tearing the light green one out and adding it to the dark green so I'm not worried any longer about that project mess up just the one skipped stitch in the dark green. I am 100 percent going to add a boarder. I love boarders on blankets and afghans.

Thank you for your encouragement

It's really good to take breaks and revisit your work after you've had a breather. Your work is looking fantastic! I'm sure you are glad you started over with the yarn you love. I'm sure your dad will love it and appreciate your detailed work. Thanks for sharing~ 😊

Thank you @crosheille for your positive reinforcement and continuing to follow my story.

My pleasure ~ 😊

beautifully received! successful work to you !!!!!