Tools of the trade

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Happy @needleworkmonday to everyone! It is getting late here in the Pacific Northwest of the US, but I am just getting time to make this post. I was intrigued by @fiberartists challenge to crafters to show some of the tools of our craft. I think I will start small and work up.

Tins and tools
IMG_20180408_100607656.jpg

I have loved tins since I was small and my mom would give me a small bandage tin to carry my lunch money. I loved the sound of the coins rattling in the tin. The round tin with the cat on it was my mom's and is full of straight pins. I use them to block my knitting. The heart-shaped tin with the angel was given to me a long time ago by mom, partly because I play flute. Both pairs of scissors in the tin were gifts from - you guessed it, mom. I frequently use the tape measure, row counter, stitch markers and other items in the tin. It's the one thing I don't want to forget if I am taking a project to work on away from home. The green plastic box in the bottom of the frame is something from the yarn shop in town. Not beautiful, but functional; home to many stitch markers.

Needle storage
IMG_20180409_210747433.jpg

Some months back I was at the yarn shop, admiring some storage ideas for circular knitting needles. They had these beautiful pouches made of silk, with slots for multiple needles. I just loved them, but didn't love the really high price. commenting on this to one of the women who works there, she empathized and said she bought a multi-file folder that works beautifully. I found the little file box, above, at the office supply store on the clearance table. I tagged each compartment with needle sizes and it fits them all, with another slot for a few other tools. I love that it closes and is easy to carry. No more digging through a plastic bag filled with tangled needles for me! Ah, organization in one facet of my life...

Bag lady
IMG_20180408_100031778.jpg
These are two of my favorite project bags, among the many boxes and bags I sometimes use. Both were Christmas gifts from the last couple years. The black bag is from a friend and is currently storing the shawl I am working. The blue bag is from my sister and holds the poncho that is slowly getting done. I think they are both beautiful and love taking them with me when I go to knit at the yarn shop or a friend's.

Well, that is a sample of my tools, etc. I will be attending a workshop on Wednesday this week, and will probably load up the shawl to work on as I listen and take notes. I love all the knitting I get done when I sit and listen!

Thanks @fiberartists for the the challenge!

Sort:  

It is so nice to see how other people store their stuff. Those project bags are pretty and functional, which is so important! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for sharing your tools with us! I really need to get a better organizer for my needles because I still dig in a bag to find them lol! I love those bags! I have about 3 of them I use. 😊

The file box for needles is a great idea! I love your tins too, because I've got a bunch of those as well :) The cat tin is especially cute.

Thanks! I love your idea of using a file folder and all those little tins. Handy. Those project bags are really nice. Thanks for sharing your gear!

So neatly organized @redbone! And love your bags, and putting shawel is a good idea. My shawel and scarves are just hanged on my hanger, and always misplaced or "hey, I didn't see you for a long time, where have you been?" Will try the bag.