Started, Stopped, Starting Over

in #needleworkmonday4 years ago (edited)

20191202_202441.jpg


My daughter @andiekins moved from a posh life in a Dallas suburb, but then moved way out into the country to pursue a self sustainable farm. She is all about veggies and growing them without pesticides. When the Farmer's Market is open, they sell their fresh produce there. One of the things she loves is when the seed packets come in from Johnny's Select Seeds. You can visit the website HERE.

20191216_123739.jpg


When I found this pattern, I knew it was something she would love to hang in her farmhouse kitchen. So I picked up the pattern and threads. I had 14-count aida cloth so I started on the first of the four pieces. I decided to work on the squash because my daughter loves my squash cassarole. It is a delish recipe with cheese, butter, and eggs. It is one of my favorites as well. While I stitched the squash piece, I could just taste the goodness.

20191205_145939.jpg


At one point, my daughter asked if it would be possible to put the name of their town where it said "Fredonia, NY". This would not be an issue for sure. Then mentioned that they would be changing things in the farmhouse and would the pieces to be no larger than the size of a 5x7 picture. I then looked at the pice and realized I was off by one. So, a change needed to be done. I was stopping work on this and starting over. I would try something new so I did not make the same miscounting.

20191214_210106.jpg


I watched a video at one time that showed a woman marking her canvas with a contrasting thread every ten squares both horizontally and vertically. It resembles the pattern's structure.

20191214_210439.jpg


I am hoping she will be thrilled with the new 18-count size and the New Morning Acres name will be placed on the seed packet.

zucchini1522535_640.jpg
Photo from Pixabay You can visit the source HERE.


As for the Yellow Squash Casserole recipe my daughter loves so much, I fear it is not my own. It can be found at the Low carb yum website. You can find the recipe HERE. Keep in mind I always add cheese and if pork rinds are not your thing, use crackers. We do the other to keep it gluten free.

Thank you so much for taking time to read my piece. Next week I hope to share about my silhouetted darling piece.

20191216_143242.jpg

iSupportSteemTerminal.gif

duckystand.png


Have YOU thought about joining the Redfish Rally?


Visit the Steemterminal to find out more.

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Sort:  

Manually curated by the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I love it that you make such a personalised gift to your daughter. Isn't crafting great that we can make exactly what's wanted or needed?

Posted using Partiko Android

I love it. She has been wanting something from me that wasn't a flamingo.

Very nice! I think you should look into the #built-it tribe. It looks like it's right up your alley. 😁

That was the other one I was trying to remember! I will check them out. Thanks.

Your daughter's life sounds amazing! Good for her!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am awfully jealous sometimes and then I remember I have a black thumb. Haha!

That’s special
Right down to measurements too :)

Merry Christmas Ren 💗

I think this one will work better than the 14 count would have. Hope you have a good holiday as well.

You are very skilled with your needlework. I used to work in needlepoint, but I have forgotten the stitches even though I still have my materials and supplies. Excellent work!

I would love to learn needlepoint, but the canvases are so expensive. Since we live in an RV, I have little space. Maybe I should show you all that some day.

I meant embroidery. :) I used to do needlepoint as well as embroidery. Your work is fantastic.

Well, needlework is needlework and worthy to be under the word "embroidery:. Thank you so much.

Such a lovely piece! Homemade gifts are just the best. My grandmother was always the one to make us things like that, but thank goodness my sister learned from her before she passed. Now it's on her to carry forth those wonderful traditions. 💚

Granny did canning. Every family would get three dozen jars with pickles, spaghetti sauce, mincemeat, and so much more. One year they even did one-third of a cow for each family! That was huge that year. I think it was because Grandpa accidentally hit the neighbor's cow with the tractor and he paid the man for it. That was the only year and I remember the tag said Courtesy of Tractor. I was horrified and couldn't eat the beef that year.

I have always made Christmas until about ten years ago. Then I started purchasing it all. We have started giving adventures with us for the Grand Georges.

I still need to get more into canning! Those really are some amazing gifts. I think I'm going to do some herb roasted pecans to add to some of my gifts now, too. Sometimes even the simplest of things mean the most. I bet the Grands enjoy the experience, as well. I might have to get my niece in on the fun. :)

Oh, pecans! I may make a pie! I have some cracked ones and need to take something for Christmas dinner. Thanks!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.