Gettin' Stitchy Wit it, NaNa Na NaNa Na- Needlework Monday!

I just realized that it is Needlework Monday!


Just recently I dug out and dusted off some of my knitting needles. And I do mean quite literally. They were in pretty bad shape!



20181026_005846.jpg

They are still a couple steps away from being finished. The dreaded seaming must be done.



I decided to make myself something I knew I would get the most use out of, a nice pair of wrist warmers. There is something very soothing about having something warm on your arms with a thumb hole. I dunno. I'm weird. You know this.



20181026_225931.jpg

In progress! I wasn't quite sure how I felt about these at this point.




20181104_061308.jpg

In the end they turned out very mermaid-y and I was extrememly please with them!



In fact, these little gloves earned me a couple commissions! One coming from as far-flung as New Zealand, actually!

The pattern is incredibly simple and can be worked up pretty quickly! I'll link it at the bottom! The yarn is Red Heart Stripes in Parrot. I have to say, this yarn surprised me quite a bit by how vibrant and beautiful the coloring is. So much so that I grabbed a second ball of the colorway and a couple different ones just to give them a go!



20181105_230145.jpg2.jpg

The green and yellow in progress is from the second pair compared to one glove from the other finished set. These came from the same ball. I BELIEVE that there is just enough to get two pairs out of one skein!



As you can tell, the colors definitely change quite a bit as you knit on so it is pretty much guaranteed that you will not get the same cookie cutter pair unless you decided to skip around and cut some colors out! For instance, there was only ONE strip of yellow in that whole skein. Compared to the second ball I purchased on the bottom right that has two.

Anyway, that is my Needle Monday. I'm being Stitchybitch and trying to get some warmers out for the winter.

Here is the pattern I am using!

... I also may or may not have 5 different pairs going at once and I've lost count of my rows and now everything is a mess and there are 5 pairs of gloves that I want to set on fire... Maybe.




stitchhead.png

Gif credit to Giphy

Sort:  

This post was upvoted for being original and creative!
Keep up the excellent work! Thank you for being a supporter of the Creativebot.
Much love. <3

Those handwarmers are really pretty, I love the colours! Isn't five items on the go at the same time the only way to knit? That's what I've heard :)
If you would like to take part in the needleworkmonday @treeplanter voting circle, please visit this post.

The yarn is gorgeous!!! And the pattern you used highlights it perfectly. I still have to learn to knit cables (although @jamethiel tempted me with a beautiful cabled headband). Thank you for providing the pattern for the mitts.
And with your potentially burning projects... I could send you some clothes which lie on my to-alter pile.... perhaps this would make the fire a bit more merry :-DDDD

I am thinking of doing a headband. where do I find this? I will check out the handle you mentioned.
Have a wonderful day @neumannsalva :)

Look this is the link from @jamethiel
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cable-knit-headband-2
but I think I like this one even more
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/top-braided-headband
Both are free ravelry downloads <3
But if you want an easier one without cables, than I can recommend this headband
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mobius-headband-2

Oh thanks so much.. I miss participating with you guys.

But you are <3 <3 There is not every week time to write a whole post. And it is always lovely to hear from each other in comments.

I know .. this so motivating .. I don't have any headbands and really love the patterns.

It was a first for me. I made the mobius headband (which is knitted flat and then crossed and sewed together) and than I made one with one big cable (HEEEELLLL). I love how fast these headbands are, but I am not so sure I love them on my head. Friends of me made some super nice photos for ravelry with me wearing the headbands, but the reality is a bit different.....

cute post resteemed... the colors you are using are beautiful
You know I miss having something to post. I could show things I messed up on. lol

I went back to a knitter's group and they all have projects going. The scarf and cap I did went quick. My next project may take some planning.

Then I thought get a 2nd one going .. I may once I decide what to work on.

I really like your lovely mitts, @stitchybitch !

I made a headband using a fancy cable stitch... and ... I didn't use a row counter... so it all went a bit 'haywire', but ... as I didn't actually have a pattern to start with... it didn't matter and it became a 'one-of-a-kind' ... as usual with my projects ... :D

Cool! I liked the combination of colors you used and looks cozy and warm- ideal for this weather!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I agree wrist warmers are the best in winter! I absolutely love them too!

Loved that pattern you used, it looks properly warm and the colours would cheer anybody up during the dark winter days :D

The colours are so pretty like rainbow! Your wrist warmers are turning out beautifully :)

Beautiful colorway!

Posted using Partiko Android

Actually these are quite awesome and I may want to order a pair because my knitting skills are terrible but I can crochet pretty well.

did you go away ? i liked your stuff

HAVE YOU THOUGHT OF MAYBE DOING DTUBE VIDEOS. TUTORIALS? i CAN CROCHET SOME BUT I'M NOT AN EXPERT BY NO MEANS (NOT YELLING I'M JUST BLIND). LOL

Those are so cool, I hate wearing gloves so I either wear fingerless or wrist warmer sort of things when it is cold and my wrists are aching, I love the colors of this pair