DIY Making a Small Bag

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Making a bag / pouch aka reincarnating my old pants

Pic 1.jpg
Before and after

I was inspired by @crosheille's #needleworkmonday project to make something. I learned how to sew on a sewing machine before but was so discouraged by how skew I sewed and how terrible the outcome was.

Now, just before my 30th birthday, I decided it's time to try again - I mean even my husband can sew, in fact he helped me through the process of making this bag, giving some tips and tricks for success!

Step 1: Dust off the forgotten sewing machine

Step 2: Find some good music

Step 3: Check discord channels and steemit feed
((2 hours later))

Maybe we should start again ((heehee))..

So I have these "hippie" pants that I really enjoyed wearing and I don't know about you but I get really sad when my clothes get worn out and unusable - so many memories in them! So I decided they need reincarnating! (Some may call it "upcycling")

Pic 2.jpg
The elastic was completely coming undone


I wanted to just make a simple pouch bag for starters that included the little pocket with some one sided fleece material to reinforce and strengthen the material.
Pic 3.jpg
Snip snip

((Perfectionist husband moans at me for cutting without his perfectionist expertise - with good reason too - it was pretty skew.))


First I sewed the fleece to the pants material

Pic 4.jpg

Then we placed some cord into a hem at the top for the drawstring

Pic 5.jpg

Then I sewed the edges together

Pic 6.jpg
Remember to sew it inside out!

Yay! All done!

Pic 7.jpg
We added some beads to the end of the cord for prettiness

Now I had the dilhemma of what to use this bag/pouch for... Hmmmmmmm..

I got it! It's perfect for my sketchbook / ideas book! And the pocket is great for holding pencils and my eraser!
Pic 8.jpg
It does fit - first pic in before and after up top has the book inside

Not too bad for my first confidence boosting sewing exercise!

Next time I'd like to make a similar bag but with a sling strap that I'll macrame or crochet.

Sort:  

That is a very nice bag @wildwanderer! I like the fabric too and the pocket! (I love pockets in bags :). The drawstring beads are pretty :)

Thank you so much! My gran tells me that when I was little and she made me clothes, my criteria was the it needed pockets (no matter if it was a jersey, dress, or pants) :D. It's so handy to have a pocket on a bag too - perfect for pens, tissues and sweeties (candy)

This is really cool! I love how you upcycled your old pants into something brand new and useful! :D

Isn’t it the best? I really loved those pants - now I can continue to love them 💖

So true! :D

Oh wow, that is awesome!

Great job you guys :)

I think I 'll try something with my next next best shirt or pants that have worn through.

Simply love it!

Woohoo!!! That will be rad!

I really like the fabric @wildwanderer. Your bag looks great ... I hope that success will encourage you to continue this practical hobby. It's really satisfying and you may well find you get friends and relatives asking you to make bags for them ;)

Thank you! 😊 It is really satisfying and empowering! Hahaha! As long as I can cut and sew straighter by the time the ask me then that’s perfect!

This is lovely and oh soo cute.

Thank you! 😊

Yay @wildwanderer!! I’m so glad to see you here posting!! Welcome to #NeedleWorkMonday! I’m glad that this initiative has inspired you to give sewing another try. What you have accomplished is truly inspiring!! The bag looks Wonderful!!! I love that you used fleece for the inside! So cool that your husband can sew and helped you with this project!! 😃

I hope you’ll continue to join us on Monday’s! We love seeing a project come to life so thanks for sharing some of the process with us!! I hope you get a chance to mingle around and check out the other needlework posts!! Thanks so much for sharing this week!!

Thank you! I think the bug has bitten! I will definitely mingle- what an awesome and inspiring community you have created! Congratulations!

Thank you so much!! It’s such a delight to be amongst supportive and skillful people! I’m so glad the needle bug has bitten lol!! 😄 It’s great to have you!

Love this! That's a pretty awesome looking bag and you made it yourself! Congrats! Fun and functional - always a good combo! Great idea to line it with fleece to give it a little body!

Thank you! Yeah that material was pretty but thin so I’m glad we had the fleece lying around 🤗

Congratulations @wildwanderer! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


Congratulations! Your post has been recommended by @llfarms to be the Global Homestead Collective's promoted post of the day. Come join us on discord! https://steemit.com/ghsc/@ghscollective/today-s-promoted-post-wildwanderer

Ooooh! How wonderful! Thank you! I’m already on the discord server (but unfortunately not very active) I hope to hang on coffee break soon! 😊

That would be great!

Love the textile❤ it almost giving the feeling of earth formation, even more earthly when you transformed into the cute bag😊 nice cord addition too, love it.

Thank you 😊 it was too hard to say goodbye to that earthy texture! I’m so glad my transformation was successful!

This looks like a fun project, I love the little bag with its pocket :)

Pockets are the best 😁 even on bags!

You are right, the trousers are lovely, and they are absolutely worth to be rescued. And you did so well. I love the bag with its pinkish pocket. I am a sewing beginner and I am always scared when trying out a new pattern, so I am amazed about your success - the bag looks really professional (I love the wood pearls :-D)
Thank you for sharing your process <3

Yay! I’m so glad you enjoyed my post! I guess it is encouraging to see a fellow newbie have a win 😁
What I’ve discovered is the best thing to do is just start - I’m normally also too scared to try anything new but just think of it as experience points 🤗

I do... mostly skirts, but indifferent how often I sew, I am always so afraid to destroy the fabric (and I use very inexpensive or recycled fabric) I am not sure why... In knitting it is different, there I am not afraid to make mistakes .. hmmm, strange.
Nevertheless: you did great :-D

Congratulations @wildwanderer! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Well done @wildwanderer! It's beautiful. And extremely impressive for a skew sewer ;) Found this through #ghsc as I haven't been on #needleworkmonday for a couple weeks.

Thank you!!! It’s so awesome that #ghsc featured this article 😊 it’s such a rad community!

I got a fright when your page popped up with my sunflowers! I thought I'd somehow deleted myself :) I have plenty sunflower photos. That one was covered with bees - back in the day before the drought hit. Where in SA are you?

Heehee! I’m in Johannesburg 😊 how’s the weather in the cape nowadays? Are you on discord much?

Not in Cape Town. We farm in the Karoo. Nope not on Discord. I hardly have time for steemit, as is

I would wear this for no other reason than I like it...