Smart contracts and dApps - surprising expensive way to make business

in #neo6 years ago

I’m in crypto business for a few month, constantly learning new things.

As everyone I started with learning how to do good trades with Bitcoin on exchanges. After few week I have discovered altcoins and why Bitcoin is so overpriced.

Now I’m here amazed about power and future of economy of tomorrow after the smart contracts will become popular.

As a professional backend programmer I wanted to tray those smart contract. How cool it would look in my CV and how much fun I will get learning refreshing new things. But there was one think which was stopping me from doing that, the
Solidity programming language. I can profit from learning new algorithms, data structures, processes but learning new languages is a as waste of time.
code-1839406_1280.jpg

Then on exchanges NEO went from 50$ to 200$. I have overlooked it before!

With NEO I can write smart contracts using C#, Java and in future even in C/C++. How cool is that!
After few clicks I found information that City of Zion is launching its second dAPPs Competition. I check what the prizes are and how complex were applications from the first competition.

I can win 1350 GAS (currently 1 GAS = $57, so the prize is over 70 000$) for writing really basic application!

admired-2195021_1280.png
It seemed so not real, so much many for a basic app (to win first competition a basic app was enough). What is the trick there? I have only found that at least 500 GAS should be used to deploy the dApp, so 850 GAS is left for me for future development (but still it's a lot of money).

I started to learn how to write a good dApp and then I found NEO System Fee page.

Contract.Create = 500 GAS (its more than over 28 000$)!

With those high prices for creating a contract in NEO and similar in Ethereum I cannot find a business case what could write just one programmer to make it profitable or at least not to lose money.

Guys do you thing learning how to write a dApp without a stunning app idea have any sense?

In few years for sure there will be lots of new blockchains with cheaper dApps. Should I say hold and get back to writing smart contract after a year or two?

Sort:  

Congratulations @properfraction! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!