A Few Hours Metal Detecting... Not Much To Show

in #neoxian3 years ago


PXL_20210502_205139715.jpg

That's Right - $0.12 and a Fake Ring...

At this rate, I think I can retire! Given I spent about 4 hours - not much good to show. A lot of trash, cans, beer caps, nails, other metal trash. The most interesting piece of the name plate for a old Chevy Cheyenne.

The coins and ring will go my jar that holds all my findings. I keep them all together, but then again I have not found anything of note. If I find something of value, either silver or some numismatic, might have to keep it seperate!

Honestly someday to fill it up, or at least get it filled with better stuff. Today was pretty lame, All new stuff, so it takes a beating in a hurry in the ground.

  • 2000 Cent
  • 1997 Cent
  • 1994 Dime

Fake - Gas Station Ring - Priceless.

On a side note, I did meet another guy out swinging his detector, and had a nice 10 min chat. First time I have seen someone else out this year. I think more people want to do it, but for some reason don't?

Had a Police officer come over to talk to me, but he was just interested in what I was finding. Seemed super excited, and I bet he has always wanted one, just never bought one. Spent a good 15 min talking to him about what I had found and the local area, not many calls for him to deal with at 7am!

Had another guy turn his truck around to stop and ask what I was finding. I swear, everyone loves the idea of digging up treasure.... why do so few get out and do it!!!

Honestly, I am using a Bounty Hunter I bought off my co workers kid used. It is not good, but it beeps enough for me to dig. I may upgrade some day, maybe it would help me dig better spots.

The real issue is access to land, you can to get that old time land, and most of that is in private hands. I am not going to just go ask a random person if I can go on their land, I feel like I need to at least know them some how first.

Either way, I enjoyed my time outside

I need to find some more areas. I also like hiking and trying to find the old camp sites used 50+ years ago but it is hard when the area has changed so much. I think I might need to research the historical society a bit and see if they old maps that will give me better ideas.

~@senstless

b01ihfeh07ez.png

Sort:  

the fake ring is useful. when need marry girl can use that to save money.

Oh I already got Mrs. Senstless.... plus I doubt any girl would be too excited to get it...and what ever single guy used, is likely to stay single.

You can metal detect at my place. Just cut me in 25% on the bounty

You bet - I know you got cans of Gold and Silver buried in that property of yours!!

If not, your cut will be like you cut might be disappointing!

25% of the beer caps please, sir.

I have a feeling your going to be tossing them everywhere in preparation!

Beer cans, bottle lids, energy drink cans. You'll get some good practice.

Hey I do have hobbies which do cost me money :) And like you wrote, you had a nice day! That's all that counts!

The weather was perfect, stupid beautiful. I can't really complain, I just always hope to find at least 5-10 coins, or at least one old one!! Something a bit more interesting than modern - cheap clad stuff.