Day 2 Of Giving Up Caffeine - Planning The Road Trip - Part 3

in #neoxian3 years ago

Ok - Lets Be Real I Drink Way Too Much Coffee

Working from home has its perks.... one of which is fresh coffee, all day, every day. I am not talking about that cheap crap they sell at the break room that is closer to dirty river water than coffee. I am not talking about that decent stuff they sell at gas stations - I am talking about really strong robust coffee you brew at home.

Sure there were days were I just ran the the 12 cup pot with mass produced Dunkin donuts coffee. Might start at 5am, or 8am, when ever I felt like it. After that pot was empty, it might lead to a smaller pot, or some nice hot black tea... more caffeine.

Then other days - its worse and I pull out the French press and grind the beans fresh and make 3-4 rounds.. This is the stuff that if you had to tolrance would give you a buzz, make your heart race and your face flush. Now this is just normal - and only has the effect to make me feel "normal"

I become a fat, coffee addict who apparently gave up on eating anything that is healthy and drinking water was left for the weak. Given I only have 5 weeks for before vacation, its time to "get clean".

The Reason and The Plan

Might not seem logical to you to give up coffee before the trip, but this is a road trip, 3000 miles over 10 days, and several days with little driving. This leads to a few days of me behind the wheel for our longest drives.

It seems like a bad idea to be operating in a method that requires 12 cups of coffee a day just to function. Some days we are planning on driving 9-11 hours... with the Mrs and two kids under 10. While there will be plenty of bathroom breaks I need ensure I am not downing coffee an any quantity.

I want to be clean for 5 weeks so what little I drink packs a punch and doesn't require frequent stops. I am thinking about brewing a batch of cold brew coffee and bringing it along. I think that would be smart because I can take a small amount in the truck, and dilute it 3:1 with some ice and manage it that. I did this last summer and 16oz with ice and water lasted me most of the day.

Day 2 Report
This sucks and is a stupid Idea, who the hell gives up coffee...... I will live and only need it make it 7 days before I wonder why the hell I ever drink it to begin with...

Weight Loss

I also mentioned I let my self go this winter. I was doing well, and like most times in my life, actually do better the busier I get. The more free time I have, the less ability to focus. This, and I had a few back tweeks that had me hurting for a while. While my first visits to a chiropractor are of questionable value, getting hooked up to their TENS unit - got rid of muscle issues I dealt with for 20 years. $50 later, I got a cheap version at home that I use all the time... sometimes for a few hours a day. I got a muscle injury I have ignored for so long, but this thing is a beast. two or 3 sessions and the knot is back under control.

All those pathetic excuses out of the way - its time to get in beach shape. I do kettlebells and run - ok jog the truffle shuffle pace of 8:30-9 min miles - for 3-5 days a week. That will help but not get me anywhere in 5 weeks.

Going "Keto" - At Least Super Low Carb
I have done stuff close to this before. I have cut out all processed complex carbs only allowing fruit sugar or honey before. No matter how much I ate the pounds would fly off me.

I have done a more open diet, but heavily restrict carbs and eat as much fat and protein as I want. This combined with working out and forcing water lead to good results, but over a longer period.

For the next 5 weeks, I am going to try to give up all bread/pasta/grains. I need to hit the grocery store, because it will be hard to do without more avocado and some hard cheese, not to mention this is going to super suck when also giving up caffeine. I already feel like trash, and this won't help. The first week of carb reduction always sucks as you break the addiction, going for a two-fir might be a bit much...

Currently Feeling...

I will pull together our road trip plan and post what we have to drive each day...

~~ @senstless

Sort:  

My good man.....I am the Coffee pusher....
I am here to help you see the error of your ways....
One can never have too much Coffee LOl😇
To help you stay on the straight and narrow caffeine path, I will now fire up my two fluid bed Coffee roasters....Can you smell the beans roasting, you will now be OK, have another cup!😇

I have done this song and dance at least 6 times prior. I give it up, get clean and feel amazing and wonder why I ever drank so much coffee. But like every dependent relation ship it starts off innocent, just a cup here socially, then two... then I find my self drinking alone in the mornings, afternoon and nights!!

I also like my coffee black, and with attitude. I tend to brew it much stronger than most. What I find to be a nice cup, my entire family adds water to cut it down.... if my coffee does not reach up out of the cup and slap me in the face to say hello, not sure why I am drinking it in the first place.

Have no fear... I will be back.

Let me take a sip as I type this Lol.....I'm rooting for you, got to go almost 9:00PM I think I need another cup, have a wonderful trip my friend!!😀

Still regretting this every day... oh how I miss that sweet hot black of cup. Not to mention this brain fog and mild headache isnt much fun...

Ohh......
Morning, hot Latte and Crypto trading in a fog....
Lunch, I'm feeling better but a Latte will perk me up....
Afternoon, I'm starting to drag, time for two more shots....
The Mrs is finally home, "Honey do you want to pull another Latte for me!

Life of a Caffeine junkie.....😇