Sort:  

Hi @customnature! I would recommend getting structured lessons from a string school, to start off. Suzuki School for Strings, in the River Street Jazz Cafe building is the only local school I know of, and is the same school I learned at, years ago. You need a good, solid base of technique, early in the process, so that would be my recommendation. I can teach a few things, but you want a good teacher to learn the basics from. Body position and mechanics are crucial for violin, as with any instrument. Are you writing music?

I need the most basic of basics. lol I play no instruments, nor can I read sheet music or identify notes. I live near Williamsport now, and I keep seeing a place in Lewisburg (it may just be someone'a house) that has a small sign in front for violins. I may stop in sometime soon and chat with them. See what they have available and if they teach at all. I got pretty dedicated when I commit to something, and I'm starting to feel like it's time to give it a shot. I'd love to learn the violin as I really like both classical and bluegrass. On a side note, I sort of remember you performing with Dave at a talent show in Lehman.... many many moons ago. lol

Ha, I remember that! It was a Christmas thing, or sometime in December. I know Robert M. Sides has a Williamsport store, and they may teach lessons there. They can rent instruments, as well. I just had a violin sent there for repairs not long ago.