A Walk Back Through Time.....

in #new7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemers !Sorry for my absence ,sometimes my job keeps me away from things I love such as my fellow Steemers.
I would like to share a little history with y'all . I live on the last piece of land that used to be hundreds of acres that dated back
to the late 1800's. I remember as a young lad walking through the fields after my Great Grandfather had just got through plowing and finding arrowheads. I had quite a few collected through the years all different shapes, colors and sizes.

As time went on ,I grew up ,got married moved ,a few times ,and finally got to move back to my family land . Well one day I was walking my dog up an old trail and stumbled upon an arrowhead . It brought back so many memories of my child hood, it was
Amazing! I went a few days later after it had rained and found a whole one and a piece of one. I have a pic of a few that i have found that I would like to share with you.![IMG_0053.JPG]

()

I often wonder which tribe was here then. According to the state map Cherokee was indigenous to this area . I find all kinds
of pieces and parts after a good rain . I stand and look around trying to visualize some type of settlement . Another unique
facet of my story is that I find pieces of stones that are not indigenous to my area. I asked a Indian historian that I had met in my
travels about the stones and he said that the Indians would trade different items amongst other tribes and good stones was one of the items. I also have a pic of some of the stones I have found below.![IMG_0054.JPG]

()

Well I hope you have enjoyed my walk through history as much as I do.

Thank you and STEEM ON!!

Follow me @brian-debbie96

Sort:  

Congratulations @brian-debbie96! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thanks. I'm going to post a pic of something I found, tomorrow

Cool , I can't wait to see it

I tried posting to your comments. Don't know how lol, so I'll just post the 3 pics I took on my blogs :)

ok , I have posted the stone :)

Kooool post! Enjoyed! My Grandparents owned a campground down in Ga. The cherokee were prevalent there as well and left many artifacts behind. My grandfather actually found a cannonball once, many years ago, from the wagons going through the area from, he says, the civil war. It's about the size of a baseball. I have a a solid piece of flint found there about the size of a soft ball that has markings all over it from where they chipped off the shavings making various tools and arrow heads. Pretty neat to see your post!

Thank you. I would like to see some pics if you have some.

I'll see if I can dig em' out. The cannon ball is really neat. The huge chunk of flint is my favorite though.