Happy New Year! We could sure use it!

in #new6 years ago (edited)

Good morning, and welcome to 2018! At least, it's 2018 in most parts of the world. There are still some parts that seem to be determined to go backward, stuck in the 1950s or 1550s, or even further back to the Dark Ages.

But I digress. I want to be more positive in the coming year, and starting off like that won't cut it, no matter how accurate it may be.

Last year, 2017, was tumultuous in many ways. We in the US started off by installing a president who was elected in large part by people who don't seem to understand how the voting process works. And sure, it could be argued that our voting process is damaged beyond repair and that most of our votes don't count anyhow. Valid argument and I don't entirely disagree with it, but still we ended up with...well, with this.

It seems this country has decided to follow a number of others in furthering divides, in installing theocracy over secularism, in favoring the few over the many. Of course it's not unique to the US. I just hear more about our situation than others, being deep in the middle of this one.

And this past year made me more cynical, more jaded, more bitter for a variety of reasons. I have gotten to the point where I'm ready to pack it up and drop out. I don't like this feeling.

So, I have determined that I will make 2018 a more positive year. Change in latitudes, change in attitudes if you will. I may still be stuck in this mire...well, to paraphrase a comedy routine I'm fond of, I will be a man riding through the sewer in a glass bottom boat. I'm in this crap, but I'll be clearly above it. I will keep my attitude up, chin up, and kill 'em with kindness.

It's a bright new day and a bright new year. Let's make it the best one yet, shall we?