Solar Eclipse

in #new7 years ago

Getting ready so my son and I can view the Great American solar eclipse.
We don't have those elusive eclipse glasses but being a former welder I have two welding hoods. I went and got them out of storage. One hood is just a normal standard welding hood. The other has an automatic darkening lense.
Since I haven't touched either hood in over 13 yrs I wasn't sure what shape they would be in especially the automatic one.

The standard hood was just fine and will work good.

20170820_180816.jpg

The automatic one well that's a different story. Since it charges the sealed batteries as you weld and it was stored in a dark shed for so many years I wasn't sure if it was going to work. I was right it wasn't working. So I pulled the lense assembly out and put it outside on the hood of my truck for several hours in the hot sun.

20170820_171511.jpg

After being out in the hot sun all day I went out to see if it started working again.
Without really thinking I grabbed it off the truck hood and suddenly realized my mistake. Leaving a dark glass object out in the Southern sun all day tends to heat up A LOT! Ever played hot potato as a kid? You guessed it I was trying to juggle while walking up the sidewalk.

This isn't the end of today's adventures.
While walking up the sidewalk playing hot potato with a piece of dark glass I was attacked by a vicious, relentless overly excited butterfly. Yes you read that right I was attacked by a damn BUTTERFLY!!!
It refused to leave me alone. Landing on my shoulder, face, back and top of my head. There was no persuading this critter to go away. Finally I thought it got tired and went on it's way but they sneaky litte %#@$% went stealth on me.
I came into the house walked into the kitchen and felt a thump on my back. Yup it followed me in just to get one more hit in! I chased it around the house and finally caught it. I had to grab it by it's wings and it was so hyper that it tore a big piece off his left wing. I managed to get it outside and release it and jump back inside before it came back for revenge. Guess I'm gonna have to watch myself the next time I go outside because it might be hiding waiting to ambush me.

WOOF IT AND STEEM ON

IMG_9953.PNG

Sort:  

if you can capture then please do it.

that looks great....

That's wonderful! I believe you and son are both had much joy in great eclipse :)

We did, thanks.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Guarddog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

You got to watch those rabid butterflies!

Tell me about it. That thing was just relentless!

Congratulations @guarddog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!