108 Bows (*백팔배* in Korean - Bek-Pal-Beh)

in #newbie6 years ago (edited)

It's a Korean-Buddhist bowing practice. An act of prostration that helps take away stress, lazy thoughts and thoughts of violence.

For me personally, I bow one hundred and eight times a day, everyday since my father encouraged me to do it. He told me that it would help me concentrate, so I started bowing everyday since November 27th, 2017. My first days of bowing were slightly painful since my knees weren't used to going up and down, one hundred and eight times. After 20-30 days, I was getting used to it and it was getting a lot easier. My concentration got a little better, believe it or not, and bowing was helping my injured leg. 

Example of Bowing:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Note: I do not own the video above, it is just an example of others bowing.


One hundred and eight sounds like a lot and certainly doesn't sound appealing. But doing the whole thing usually takes me 20-25 minutes. 

How does it help me Concentrate?

There's only two things that run through my mind whilst I bow. How many bows I did, and taking responsibility for everything I do. Just focusing on how many bows I did, helps me with my concentration. Everything I know about fades away, except the numbers. The numbers are a big priority. 


Before I started bowing, I genuinely did not want to do it. It sounded tiring and boring, but now, I'm very glad I started. Here's why:

- Bowing helps me concentrate

- Bowing is a great fat burning exercise - you sweat a lot

- Bowing helps with your diet - easier digestion

- Bowing helps you know who you are

- Bowing helps me think positively

- Bowing lets you be at peace

- Bowing makes me happy 

- Bowing shows who I really am

- Bowing lets you relax

- Bowing is a great sport


If you would like to start bowing, I highly recommend it. If you would like to know how to bow, watch the video below. Unfortunately, English is not used in the Video.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Note: I do not own this video. 


Thank you for Reading!

Sort:  

This is awesome thank you! I do not bow now because I have not gotten to that point in my studies. I used to take stuff from here and there (I live in NYC so there are a lot of options) and I found I wasn't getting a comprehensive Buddhist education that way so I am going pretty much step by step and writing about it.

But, this information on bowing os lovely and clears up a lot of unanswered questions! A lot of people in the west have the wrong idea about bowing. Resteeming! 💞

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed. I do recommend you try it.

Wow! Great.

Thanks!

Thank you for that information, will definitely try it out!

Thanks! And you're welcome

백팔배는 빨리하시면 안됩니다. 천천히 하십시요. 천천히!

네 감사합니다~

15년 전에 절에 갔다가 108배 하고 왔는데 너무 오래전 일이라 기억이 안났는데, 덕분에 다시 배웠습니다.^^ 보팅 누르고 팔로우 신청하고 가요. 자주 소통해요

감사합니다! 열심히하세요~