You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekly redfish and minnow mixer - 100% SBD giveaway 4-12-18

in #newbiegames6 years ago

After the Ball Tampering scandal with the Australian Cricket team recently, the fallout has seen comment passed by many current and former players. This is my take on the response from one such player - former Captain Michael Clarke

https://steemit.com/cricket/@sparkesy43/should-michael-clarke-make-a-test-comeback

Sort:  

hey @sparkesy43, I'm guessing your from Australia? This was such a huge topic of discussion and I heard it everywhere from work to university. To be honest, I'm not a cricket fan but I think Australia generally holds our cricketers on a pedestal. I remember reading an article about how some of our Australian athletes were abusive towards their partners but it didn't receive as much attention as this ball tampering scandal. I agree with your thoughts in the article especially 'rewarding consistent high level performance' - seems like it would be the best in the long term to focus on rebuilding the team.

Thanks for reading @Chels. I am indeed an Aussie. You're spot on about idolising our cricketers, and I'd even extend that to all our sportspeople in general. Just imagine if politicians were held to the same moral and ethical standards....