My Introduction Post

in #newcomers3 years ago

Hello everyone!
I enjoy designing professional development programs that help educators and children deepen their creative thinking practices and take an active part in their own learning, problem-solving and meaning-making. Because of my commitment to and belief in the importance of this work, I recently returned to school to pursue a Master’s degree in Education and Innovation in order to acquire a deeper understanding of, as well as gain invaluable insight into, innovative educational practices and learning strategies.

My philosophy of education (and innovation in education) has been largely influenced and inspired by the Reggio Emilia approach. As some of you may know, it is a pedagogy that values the competence and capabilities of each child and promotes an active approach to learning where knowledge is constructed through learning experiences in relationship-driven environments. These ideas are rooted in the research and theoretical work of pioneering educational theorists, such as John Dewey, Jean Piaget and Lev Vygotsky, among others. My studies of other innovative approaches, with similar philosophical renderings, include: Design Thinking, Transformative Learning, Global Citizenship and Creative Multimedia Design for Innovative Learning -- all of which have introduced me to creative thinking and learning strategies that I plan to integrate into my educational work.

Obviously, addressing the kinds of changes that challenging times like these bring with them will also require different thinking strategies, as well as ways of acting and being. For these, and all the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that there is no better time to develop innovative ways to support educational programming and improve teaching and learning, while supporting our young children, teachers and communities in need.

I am excited to have the opportunity to connect with and learn from a broader network of educators and innovators like you through the Hive Community!