You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Town Bypasses Constitution, US Citizens Given 60 Days to Turn in Guns Or Become Criminals

in #news6 years ago

I pray the people will resist and set an example.

Side note: I found this statement "Currently, in the U.S., law enforcement kills around 1,200 citizens per year. Ironically, that number is actually four times higher than those who die from rifles. " I see the point it's trying to make, but it's important for the sake of accurate perception, logic and reasoning to account for the fact that they are placed in situations where this is more likely necessary than almost all other civilians.

Sort:  

That is true, good points, although, i will say that these cops put themselves in that position by volunteering to do something most of them know deep down is immoral

Hmmmm. I agree that many forms of policing are overstepping, but protecting the sovereignty of others lives is the one moral aspects I appreciate cops for, and their intentions. If I was about to get raped and an officer stepped in and stopped it, I certainly wouldn't tell him that deep down he knows that's immoral. I don't think protecting others from harm is against sovereignty. And I'd like to believe that a majority of police have that intention at their core. The problem arises in that they have been given too much power over aspects of life that do not have to do with that.