Government-threatened homeless mother of 3, gets decentralized support from MSP-WAVES RADIO ON PAL

in #news6 years ago

U5dsnyddiA19rArSxYzVi6V2tgnG3F7_1680x8400.jpeg
I was part of something big last night breaking this morning. Something I would never have imagined possible was made possible let by a team of passionate listeners who were tuned in at the time to msp-waves Pirate Radio on the Pal discord channel.
I woke up at about 3:15am and decided to show some support to one of the Top minnow support channels on the Steemit blockchain. (PAL) and was blown aback with the results that followed.

The hosts for the night were @r0nd0n and @globi and there was a slight change of plans as it were, it wasn't just a show for song requests alone, but it was one that gave a homeless woman some major
empowerment.

How it all started

It became an emotional time for the entire house after @occupywallet brought to the notice of the house, a pressing need in @hickorymack's recently published article.
DQmbs2kWkNZmu7uJyYVwL1AyzEjbY6McNo7xEmg6HHPk4cM.jpegImage Source
@hickorymack is a mother of 3and an owner of 2 dogs and they were already rendered homeless as at the time of the article.

As if that wasn't enough, the government, (via Child Protection Services) has deliberately tried to deprive this woman of her children even after they had put these little ones in harms way.

Well, @hickorymack did justice to explaining the situation u can check out her blog.
The decision of radio host @r0nd0n to dedicate the nights show to help raise funds for @hickorymack to help sought her out, was all that was needed to trigger just over 30 listeners at the time, (myself included), to come to her rescue.

The Strategy

In order not to distort the events lined up fjor the show, the host went ahead to take in donations and give out appreciations to donors via playing requested tracks.
I was moved to donate the entire amount in my wallet at the time even though it wasn't enough to request a song and this is were I also felt emotional as another listener @kodaxx (who almost stole the Playlist for the night with his numerous entries) made up for my donations. With a whooping 2.3 SBD
Screenshot_20180205-044215.png
The night was both emotional and fun-filled, as my song was also played.

my song: *Heal the world by Late Pop star Michael Jackson.

This is one of those nights where I know I deprived myself of sleep for a good reason..
Also see the resteemed story in my blog

PAL Discord has members of vision, its clearly and boldly written in the hearts of her listeners and I was proud to be part of a team that used the decentralized medium to change a family's story.

The Funds

Amount raised for @hickorymack is detailed here...
U5drEhUymhxWt1CMuoZ5iyzn6XJjeiD_1680x8400 (1).png
This doesn't include the upvotes on her post as done by many from the group last night...

Thanks for reading

@dayveedben

Sort:  

Nicely done. Good Work.

@dayveedben, God bless you and all those who took part in that life changing move.

I've never stopped believing that there are still good people in this messed up world 🌍. And your story just 'upvoted' that believe 😂. Thanks.

Kindly stay awake tonight biko cus I'll be looking forward to seeing another post (from you) about another gracious feat accomplished by kind people.

Haha @fada.emma i found my life's purpose in being a part of other people's success story. Thanks alot... More life changing feats yet to come

This time around, I pray I don't miss the opportunity to be a part of that helping team.

Live long bro

Nice job bro; you'll go places.

Awesome thanks a lot @joshuaattat

We will go places together sir thanks alot

Wow what an inspiring thing to hear about! I love that the community will jump to help those in need!

The turn out help for that woman is just amazing

@dayveedben Nice thank you!
I resteemed Hickorymacks post before that whole radio-fundraiser started, and I was thinking hmm, I hope she gets some help, but I had very low expectations...
Really glad people here on Steemit stepped up!
Let's hope we can help more people in the future!

Hey, just so you know, if you add an 's' to my @ then people can find me... I am @occupywallets

Also, do you know anything about the MSP matched donations? Shouldn't there be another payment at the same amount, from the matching?

Awesome.. It was an oversight with the name.. I am so sorry and will make corrections..
About the matched donations.. I wouldn't mind d some. Enlightenment.

I will ask Ron, who started the fundraiser... And no worries on the error, we all make mistakes... I came here because FriendlyFenix said someone wrote a song with the fundraiser referenced in it... Know anything about that?