You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Calling Bullshit on Racist Anti-Cultural-Appropriation Propaganda

in #news4 years ago

I have a problem with it too. It's a big part of why I went vegan. I was vegetarian before that, but realized I was still doing a LOT of unjust harm to sentient beings, and I didn't need anything I was getting nutritionally from the breastmilk. Eggs were the last animal product to go, because I don't actually see a huge problem with eating them occasionally, if they can be obtained ethically (but that is almost impossible even in backyard operations where the birds are essentially pets). I don't freak out if there's a little honey in something, but my wife and I are what most people would call vegan. We don't think anyone should harm anyone/anything else that is sentient, that has emotions like fear and love, or that doesn't want to die. It's good to see attitudes changing on this, bit by bit. I would like to see things go a lot faster though, and maybe that's coming soon. As more and more people wake up (in general), more people realize the trillion dollar meat industry is full of shit. My wife @MediKatie is writing a post about the parallels between the elites using/consuming common people, and common people using/consuming livestock such as cows.

Sort:  

I am vegan too. As above, so below: We farm, therefore we are farmed.

Thanks for being vegan and not contributing to the farming of ourselves and fellow creature.

We served "vegan food" to family members recently, with mixed results! It was a little sad to see young people unwilling to eat something, simply because it was made without any animal products. The pizza we served was fantastic!

I bet it was - I know your plight all too well...we are few and far betwixt