Getting a crucial word wrong in a very short article

in #news2 years ago

You remember back when you were in school and an English teacher would hand back a paper and there was red ink all over it with corrections made to your writing. Sometimes you wouldn't even understand what the problem was or what they were on about as far as their comments were concerned.

Sometimes this would be embarrassing for me but eventually I became so good at it that I started to look at as a career option that didn't pan out for me. Oh well!

We all make mistakes in our blogs, posts, or just whatever we write anywhere but at the same time it is not our job to make sure that this doesn't happen, especially when it is is about a very crucial part of the article in question and this mistake totally changes the desired impact of the article in question.


image.png
src

The Daily Honker isn't exactly the most professional outlet in the world and they are extremely new on the scene. This doesn't change the fact that they are a registered news organization that has staff. These staff are meant to produce stories of interest, which they do manage to pull off particularly for conservatives. What they apparently don't give a crap about is proofreading their stuff before they put it out there.

The very first sentence in their recent article about Joe Rogan and Spotify contains a glaring error that completely misinforms the audience and no, I don't think this was intentional either since they obviously really like Joe Rogan.


image.png
src

Four million dollars over four years would be something I think most of us would jump out of our seats over, but to Joe Rogan, this is chump change. When I first read it I thought that this might have been Rumble's actual offer because I have no idea if they have any money. The few times I used their website I didn't think it was very good so I was actually surprised they had 4 million to offer.

However, the actual offer was 100 million dollars over 4 years and this kind of changes the entire story to anyone that reads it. Here is the Tweet that the article was based on.


image.png

The Daily Honker's article is only about 150 words long with a few images. My rant about them is longer than the article in question. Yet they care so little about their output that they screwed up the MOST important part of the story, in the very first sentence.

I presume these people are paid to write this and this sort of error is just shameful. I wouldn't say that anyone is really looking to a place like the Daily Honker for news, but there are some high profile individuals that are linking to their articles and this is how I found out about them in the first place. You're gonna need to do better than this if people are going to take you at all seriously guys.


logo_dumb_brush.png

Sort:  

Lol. That is a major blunder and how can something like that be overlooked. Daily Honker sounds like it could become a joke paper as how can anyone screw the facts up so badly.

Maybe they're trying to become the next Babylon Bee.