World's largest cast-iron skillet causes alarm with motorists

in #news2 years ago

You ever see something so strange in your life that you have to think really hard about whether or not you are actually awake? This something that is in your vision is so unreal that you are certain that it must be a cartoonish dream rather than actually happening in front of you. I've had it happen a few times such as when I was walking down the street and all of a sudden there were 60 or so people dressed as clowns heading towards me on the sidewalk. I guess there was a clown convention or something like that but at that moment in time I was thinking to myself that there is no way I am actually awake right now.

Well this is what a ton of motorists near Pittsburgh experienced a few days ago when a nearly 15,000 lb cast-iron skillet was spotted heading down the highway on the back of a big rig.


image.png
src

It certainly turned a lot of heads and the internet was awash with people posting pictures of this very strange item going down the road on the back of a truck that would normally carry bulldozers or 15 cars headed to a dealership.

The skillet, which is in fact real and made of the same cast-iron that the one you maybe have in your home is made of, is 18 feet in diameter and it purported to be the biggest one in the world. I'm quite certain it would never be used but as difficult as it is for me to get the "flop" on an omelet in my normal sized pan, I would love to see them try to do that with this thing. It would probably require several thousand eggs and a crane or Bobcat to attempt to flip it. Maybe they should use the world's largest spatula and give it a try!

The skillet is headed to the Lodge Cast Iron Museum - which is a very strange museum to have in my mind that will open in February and is built to celebrate the history of the cast-iron skillet. I guess there is a museum for everything. Personally, I'd rather visit the "Biggest Ball of Twine in Minnesota" and if you are familiar with the song you and I probably have more in common than you think.

While I will definitely not be putting this museum on my to-do list, I would imagine it was a great joy for the people who randomly saw this thing traveling down the highway..


great-story.jpg