You may wish to rethink that headline!

in #newslast year

When I was in college I really wanted to be an editor for a major newspaper. I would never be given the chance because that industry was so competitive at the time. Little did I realize that this inability to get a job was a blessing in disguise because the entire print news industry has all-but-collapsed and the digital version of the same editions are not bringing in nearly as much money as they used to. It is an industry on its last legs and at least for some of the publications, it seems as though they don't really care anymore.


image.png

This one is from South Carolina and someone needs to have a chat with Nevin about correct use of punctuation. You remember that time that you were enjoying a Snickers and chomped down and found an entire AK-47 in it? Yeah, those were the days.


image.png

I have read this over and over again and I still don't have any idea what the story actually is. This is from an online only publication called Deadline and perhaps author Jill Goldswith was dealing with a deadline of her own.


image.png

It must be a tough job to keep those headlines below the stories making sense. This one was on the other day and I honestly don't care what nation they were talking about. I just kind of wonder if the person typing these things in actually even reads any of what they type before they hit enter. That's a pretty big mistake but then again, it's CNN.


image.png

I would imagine a lot of the phone's functions stop working if the battery is deal. Lots of other phones do that too. I read the article to see if the fingerprint function stops working permanently if the battery hits zero and as it turns out that is the case - but only with a select batch of them. That one little word that they didn't include makes all the difference in the headline. Think people! Think!

I find it funny that things like this slip through the cracks in various publications and broadcasts that well, at least some of them, pay tons of money to make sure that something like this doesn't happen. I had my job a chief editor for small publication of about 30,000 units weekly. I am proud to say that a mistake like this never made it through the system while I was in charge of it.


logo_dumb_brush.png

Sort:  

Another great one! !ALIVE !PIZZA

@dumb-news! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @cryptopsycho21. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@cryptopsycho21(1/15) tipped @dumb-news (x1)

Join us in Discord!

People don't think though and it is the main problem. Do people even read anymore as that is how lazy people have become and why they are so gullible as they are fed the information and believe it.

I don't think that anyone is really trying to be truthful or accurate anymore and yes, the audience is certainly less discerning. I meet an increasing number of people that are skeptical of all news that they read these days regardless of the source and I think that this is a good thing.

Dear @dumb-news,
Our previous proposal expired end of December and the Hivebuzz project is not funded anymore. May we ask you to review and support our new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248)?
Thank you for your help!