You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FDA takes action against E-Cigarette Companies Misleading Advertising due to Risk of Nicotine Exposures Among Young Children

in #news6 years ago

I would highly disagree that packaging and legislation have reduced the exposure to children. I'm not very confident in the sample size or procedure in making this assessment.

Of course, I think it is distasteful to market using children's juice boxes to promote e-cigs and I'm stunned that ANY company would choose this route as well as the marketing teams that might even suggest it.

Good post and information. Thanks for sharing. I found you on Kryptonia and hope to see more of you there. All the best.

Sort:  

Thank you and I agree that the marketing tactics are very distasteful but I thought the study was very well done. The sample size was n=8,269 and was a restrospective analysis of all past exposures in children. So if anything the results are biased towards under reporting. Now I agree that more factors could be influencing the result other than just packaging regulations but I do believe they have helped to reduce the incidence of exposures in children.

I think more legislation in terms of the appearance of the packing specifically the similarities to many common candy and food products would only help to further reduce the overall accidental exposure incidence in children. Do you not agree? Anyways, thank you for the thoughtful comment! :)

Since you are quite versed in these areas, do you know what would happen if a young child drank one of those little nicotine e-juice bottles?

When I was a kid I would eat the paint off the back of pencils, chew glue as if it was chewing gum, I probably did consume a whole bunch of crayons and other non food items.

I remember my friend found a cool "canteen" looking bottle under the sink at his parents house, and he wanted to play "desert ninjas" after watching some cartoon on TV, he drank from that bottle and lost his consciousness and almost died...
Kids do stupid things... =/