Stealing from the poor.

in #news6 years ago (edited)

In the Dutch city of Rotterdam, police have recently announced a new "anti-crime" program which will have police searching for people wearing expensive clothes, with an emphasis on younger men. When an officer believes he has found someone wearing clothes they can't afford, they can demand evidence that the person does in fact own the clothes, or has enough income to afford them.

Now you might be thinking thats weird, but that weird is where it ends, right? Wrong. If the accused thief can not provide evidence of ownership or a high enough income (again, apparently completely and solely up to the officers discretion) their clothes can be confiscated on the spot.

rotterdamn police chief.jpg
Says chief of police Frank Paauw, "they are often young guests who consider themselves untouchable. We're going to undress them on the street."

How this will affect the city, which is one of the largest ports in the world, and known for its tourism industry, can only be guessed at. But the abuses of this new police power, and the innocent victims it will create, are inevitable and undeniable.

Also undeniable are the inherent flaws in making these real life "fashion police," fear of profiling, racial and otherwise, is already rampant. I myself would like to point out that police officers completely ignorant of fashion will now be judging the cost of clothing and accessories, judging people's income based on appearance minus said clothing and accessories, forcing people to justify the clothes they wear, then forcing people to undress in public.

strip search.jpg

Lets also not forget that someone who used to make more money, people who wear inherited or gifted clothes, people wearing knock offs (including legal reproductions,) anyone who buys second hand, immigrants and tourists, and those good at finding deals, may well be incapable of proving they didn't pay full price just yesterday, and be humiliated and mugged, by police.

source
edit
English source

Sort:  

I am smile now

What? How ridiculous! Can't the police just go out and catch criminals? Isn't that what they're supposed to do? Seems like everywhere I turn it's a thug gang (police) harassing everyday common folk just trying to go about their business. Is it to much to ask the police to just serve and protect or did that go away and has now become harass and extort. I guess the criminals are paying the police too much to be left alone and now the non paying or easier prey has become apparent? Maybe the police are afraid to actually go out and catch criminals. It would seem everybody is a criminal to the police except for criminals? What's up? Have we hired the bottom of the barrel thinkers to uphold our laws and serve our societies........... I digress.

Well, the police believe this program will harm only criminals who buy expensive clothes with ill gotten gains. Which is of course an incredibly ignorant belief.

Agreed. This just opens more doors for them to stop, harass and fine or arrest. I don't know any common folk who would find this non offensive. In my part of the world no man would allow the undressing of his significant other, children or himself without damn good reason. This just wouldn't fly here IMO although one father trying to protect his family can't stand up to many thugs armed like soldiers. Hard to believe................. sad and disgusting.

That's just ridiculous!
So we can expect a lot of naked people in Rotterdam soon? My Lord! Remind me to dress like a slob if I ever go there 😁

I didn't even think about that. I wonder if it will have a noticeable affect on how people dress.

Excelent news, When you need Police - they macke nothing, When you dont need Police - they rob you.

@erebus Is this for real? People getting stripped of right,privacy and modesty. Just so wrong. I might as well not remove the price tag when I go there to visit. Or not go at all,find some place where I can relax and not worry about the police bothering me.

Oh, it is real, and it is certainly wrong. I typically don't wear very expensive clothing, but even show this would be on my mind every time I'd leave my hotel room.

Thats so stupid. Its just one city though will the federal government or the EU do anything?

One city right now, not sure about the federal government, or if the EU even can do anything. I'll check though, maybe write a follow up.

:D I am not sure if it is a joke or real deal! It's ridiculous to be told to start stripping out of that hot Armani suit you got on!

No joke, it is very much real.

Wow that is just crazy, who in the right mind would make such laws or enforce them.

Somehow it sounds like an article in a satirical newspaper, do you have any sources that are not in dutch?

I did not realize I only linked a Dutch site. Here is a New York Post report.

This is really stupid. How do you even know who is too poor? Normally you judge how poor a person is by their clothes. So what does it mean to find someone who looks to poor for their clothes?
This is just another explanation to stop and harass people on the street. You look to poor? You look to rich? You look to normal?

Just another in a long line of absolutely asinine power grabs. If you look like someone the cops are interested in, regardless of what that means.

No way! This has to be a joke. It would be impossible to enforce.

Its no joke, and as for enforcement, I don't think it would be hard at first. Refusing to cooperate with the police would lead to arrest. People would have to go along or outfight the police.

Sounds completely dodgy. The only way to pick someone up would be to essentially racially profile them. How else can you decide if someone can afford their particular dress that day? I don't think this would last long...

Do they go up to some one they fancy and strip them

That is a good question. Since it seems to only be up to an individual officers discretion I would say they certainly can.

That's really weird and sad :/

Hmm really? Think they are going a little bit to far there in the Netherlands.. If I wear expemsive clothes after one year jobless, being in asia, they can catch me? I hope they have more rules and strategies there in the office to search the real stolen stuff..

They say you can bring proof of ownership in to the police station within a certain amount of time to recover your clothing.

Hmm mostly I and lots of other people don't have I guess..

This will never pass, though. Honestly, the criticism of this method is astounding.