You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Extreme Food Waste in America While Billions are Starving (And My Experience Volunteering At The Local Food Bank)

in #news5 years ago

How about feeding the kids and the elders? Homeless?

The Krishna monks have agreements with grocery stores for the older produce which they cook up!

And should have seen how much water and grasslands were eaten by the buffalo which are recently back from exctintion..

However being personally aware and not wasting? Pales in comparison to the government wastage... How about the environment damage with wars?

Iraq and depleted uranium? The high explosive munitions? Highly toxic...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

totally agree. Those are some good points. I actually do what I can to feed the homeless, as I wrote about in a recent post. That's cool about the Krishna monks, I had no idea.

Yes government wastage is out of control, you don't have to tell me! Unfortunately it is much easier for individuals to change their own habits and ways than the habits and ways of the government which they have little to no influence over. Our votes don't count, our so-called representatives don't represent us and rarely listen to us, and no amount of demonstrating or protesting seems to get them to change a damn thing b/c they are all puppets.

If you've read many of my posts in the past, you'd know I am highly critical of all the endless war which is destroying humanity and the earth. That war is a major force of destruction, on this we totally agree! And war also happens to be a source of starvation, as a huge chunk of those going hungry are in conflict zones, which makes perfect sense.

Unfortunately I can't do much to stop my government from waging the wars on behalf of all the greedy bankers and corporations besides refusing to sign up for the service, stop paying taxes, stop giving my consent, and speaking up for peace and against the war - all things I've done. On the other hand I can readily and rather easily reduce my food waste, so I often try to focus on the things the average person can actually change for the better :)

Thanks for the comment @ganjafarmer!

You are welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android