You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The EVERYTHING bubble

in #news7 years ago

We have access to almost unlimited information in the palm of our hands in an interconnected digital world. Everyone is hooked on it. I fear it may all go dark. Or the continued spread of strategic misinformation may underline faith in the information systems we rely on causing lack of public trust and rendering our traditional info sources as useless.

Sort:  

going dark would be extremely terrible. i really hope that never happens because it would be devastating to the entire world. I only see that happening in a solar flare type situation from the sun though. I think that countries (especially governments) need the internet for control and to be able to spy on everyone, so I don't think they would ever willingly give up that power. I think this internet situation is only getting crazier with smart appliances and smart everything hooking into the internet of things, so i don't see it going down anytime soon.
As far as misinformation goes. that's all around us all the time, as humans we have to sift through all of it and decide for ourselves whats what. I know that sounds shitty but we dont want to be censored (like google and youtube have been doing lately) so people are turning to blockchain media sources like d-tube.
i think we are in the age of information and it will go on through my life and things will eventually be amazing. I just think we have some hard times to go through first. :/

I share your optimism.