Sort:  

Well, it's a true story and a provocative, exaggerated headline. Yeah, I'd call it that, it's an exaggerated provocative headline... I mean, real click bait would be like: "Supermodel at the beach - SEE THE PHOTOS!" or "10 cutest unknown animals" or something like that :D

Click bait

a provocative, exaggerated headline.
@pavezi

Defined

clickbait
ˈklɪkbeɪt/
noun informal
noun: click bait
(on the Internet) content whose main purpose is to attract attention and encourage visitors to click on a link to a particular web page.
"these recent reports of the show's imminent demise are hyperbolic clickbait"

QED

Look, all headlines are supposed to draw attention, right? What I was doing is trying to help out a charity worker who had been denied a visa by these Brits! Why? Because he didn't have any land or property? That's just outright discrimination due to poverty. We're heading to a dangerous new apartheid world where good people like mr. azizbd aren't allowed to travel to the United Kingdom. It was an outrage, the headline was correct, of course it's sad that I could not attract even more attention to this problem with even more striking headline. Call it clickbait, call it whatever you want, I don't believe I did anything wrong.

That's just outright discrimination due to poverty.

No.
That's outright entitlement & manufactured outrage, sir.

I don't believe I did anything wrong.

That's the core issue, @pavezi

Look, there's no question of entitlement here. Mr. azizbd didn't ask me to write this article, he seems to be just a humble charity worker from Bangladesh with no land or property who wanted to visit the UK, but was denied a visa. So you know he isn't responsible for anything I do. So you can't blame him for "entitlement". And how could you blame me? I have a right to give my opinion about something I see happening. I have a right to comment events, like this guy being denied a visa. I think it was wrong, the UK should have been honored to have this guy visit them. Of course based only on what I know about the situation. So I wanted to bring up this important injustice, you know, people take travelling and visas for granted in our developed countries, but when someone from a country like Bangladesh tries to travel, he runs in to problems like this! It's a genuine problem and would require genuine outrage. Obviously this one post on steem isn't going to do anything about it, but please, articulate what was so morally wrong or reprehensible in my article? I mean the headline describes the happening pretty well. Something scandalous happened, a charity school teacher from Bangladesh was denied a visa because he wasn't considered a "proper visitor". Obviously this was way more scandalous than the whole Trump-Russia election-hacking hoax :D But hey, I get your point, we'll just agree to disagree. I mean at least I didn't do anything illegal, right? I just tried to help a guy out.

what was so morally wrong

  1. That you can evaluate who the UK allows entry into their country; not being a UK national.
  2. That the UK would need to adjust already published visa criterea.
  3. That you arrogate to yourself the right to pontificate on how the UK would be honoured.

Click bait. It is, sir.

Well I can have an opinion on who they should let in, can't I? People like this guy, a charity school worker and a social entrepreneur. He should be let in. But of course they don't let this guy in, but instead a bunch of radical islamic terrorists! The UK needs help on who they should be letting in, I was there to provide it.

Mr. azizbd didn't ask me to write this article,

So, you've used @azizbd & his noble causes for click-bait. @pavezi

I just tried to help a guy out.

And help yourself too, at his expense?
Or are you going to transfer your earnings from the post to @azizbd or his causes?

Hey, I've got mr. aziz on auto-upvote, so the more I grow, the more he grows. Besides, I'm trying to bring more followers and attention to his steemit account. The post made about 45 cents, which for me is really nothing so yeah if he stays on steemit and we stay friends with him then definitely I hope to help him out with much more than 45 cents :D