You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Gender Inequality Issue In Indonesia! 2 Fingered Virginity Tests To Join The Military!

in #news7 years ago (edited)

Hi there Chron, good for you to investigate a complex issue. However, I am downvoting you. If your goal here is to assist the emergence of a world where our sisters and brothers of all persuasions are treated equally, I would suggest you are going about it the wrong way. Research, disclosure and putting light on darkness are important. Yet, by judging, and putting your energy into condemnation you give power to the very dynamics you wish to end. Sensationalizing one's condemnation (your post title and image) does nothing but create create simplified understandings and division. Sure, you get attention. But at what cost? Alot of people reading your post don't know much about Indonesia and you a painting us all with one brush. What about all the amazing Indonesia women here? What about all the amazing government programs that support young muslim women, single mothers and more? My Indonesian partner is one of the most liberated and empowered woman I know. What of all the others like her and the systems that enabled her? The world that we put our attention on (and the attention of others) is the world we create. Care-full please.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment! Did you read the whole article?

I did make a point of emphasizing the main issue in my article.

I'm an Indonesian citizen, I have lived here all my life! I care about these issues!

Of course there are amazing women in Indonesia. I have 3 Indonesian sisters (who gave me the idea for this article) and I'm over-protective of them, do you have Indonesian sisters who could be subjected to this?

There are amazing things that happen in Indonesia and there are horrible things that happen here, I will be posting about both :)