Avoid heels

in #news6 years ago (edited)

I was a heels lover. I wouldn't step out of the house to buy milk from a store that was a stone throw away without my heels on. I was extremely addicted to wearing heels that made me look taller and smarter. Am I still wearing it? No. The first thing that my gyneacologist advised me after I got pregnant was to ditch heels. I was so addicted to wearing heels that I enquired her if I could wear those till my second trimester started, but she was adamant that I should not wear those even for a single extra day.

Image source : https://bit.ly/2jJX7nk
Screenshot_2018-05-08-23-39-58-951_com.android.chrome.png

I got myself flat footwear on the way back to home from the hospital and once I was home, I carefully packed my 3 pairs of heels in polythene covers presuming I would wear them once the baby came out. It has been almost 11 long years since that day, and I don't even know where those 3 pairs of heels are. I am completely off heels and I can assure I have lost my expertise of walking on heels after such a long gap. I am so off heels that even the prettiest of them won't get me to try those.

I am happy that I ditched heels when I was 20 because if I hadn't then it would have done much bad than good to my posture. Heels, undoubtedly makes you look taller, smarter and sexier but it causes damage to the spine and joints that would stay for life.

Heels are doubtlessly bad for pregnant women as the change in weight alters the center of gravity increasing the risk of tripping and falling down. But, along with pregnant women, those women who have to carry their infant along should also stay away from heels to avoid accidents like it happened yesterday in Mumbai (India).

A 23 year old new mum was attneding a relatives wedding along with her 6 month old infant and her family. Like every other Indian female, this young mum also wanted to look best so she got into the best peice in her wardrobe and wore those shiny heels on. At the venue she lost balance while walking past the 1st floor balcony and the baby slipped from her hands falling on the ground. People at the venue didn't waste any time in rushing the new born to the nearest hospital, but doctors declared him dead on arrival.

Balancing on heels is tough and with a baby it gets tougher. So, it is always best to avoid heels now rather than repent on it later.

Sort:  

Very helpful post thanks for shere dear @samysamy

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Like every other Indian female, this young mum also wanted to look best so she got into the best peice in her wardrobe and wore those shiny heels on.
It should be piece instead of peice.

Wearing shoes is very important to protect the feet from dust @samysamy

Very good article @samysamy about the interests of shoes