Tech stocks are crashing hard - Are their bargains to be had for long time investors

in #news2 years ago

Hello investors, today we see a bloodbath for some public trading stocks. We are all involved with crypto investing, some of my followers will be precious metal stackers but how many of us own stocks? They are kinda boring, you buy them with the hope they increase in value only. With crypto, I can stake them, use them for farming and compound them down. With silver/gold I have a super nice collection of coins/bars/rounds that take me hours to look through which I enjoy very much, very much indeed and metals are an excellent hedge against inflation which is why I hold. Having hit my stacking goals years ago and feeling like I have enough crypto, I decided to start investing in the stock markets 12-18 months back but today im seeing lots of stuff on sale with some stocks dropping more than 20% in the past day and im thinking, could be a good time (for me) to convert some crypto to stocks.

image.png

When I started buying stocks I put a lump sum onto my broker account and split it 50% Nvidia, 25% Virgin Galactic, 15% Visa and 10% Beyond Meat. Nvidia has mooned, Virgin and Beyond tanked and Visa is up a little. After that, I started to deposit money every week from my pay and build up holdings in Microsoft, Amazon, Google and most recently Paypal giving me exposure to 8 stocks in total. Im is happy with the results im getting even with my losses with Virgin and Beyond, Nvidia has been good to me and im hoping the recent crashes will provide an opportunity to bang another bargain.

Today's biggest movers in the markets

Facebook - Meta

-25.23%

image.png

Fuck you Zuckbag, we all hate you, we dont trust your face and your company is the blueprint for evil. You use dirty tactics to beef numbers, exploit your users and produce a net negative impact on the world. It's dropped 25% because of bad earning reports and new privacy rules coming for Apple IOS users. Fuckerberg lost a total of $29 billion in 1 day which is baaaa-hahaha. He's still uber-rich and I should not be laughing because I think he's signed and pledged to give away most of his wealth before he dies but still, I wish I could taste some of those tears. He's a slimy, greasy lizard looking cunt.

With that said, could be a good buy right now. I'll not be buying any cause ethically they are a piece of shit company. Will facebook the website be a thing in 20 years? maybe? will Meta as a company? 100%? but I dont see Meta being the alpha of VR like it is with social media. I could be wrong, younger generations seem to be more trusting and embrace centralization.

Paypal - PYPL

-29%

image.png

I started to buy into Paypal recently making my first purchase at the start of Dec 2021. I have only seen the price go down from what I thought was a dip when I first bought in. I use Paypal, I know it's popular, it might not be number 1 in its category but I believe it has a use case. Paypal is always being updated with new features and i think it'll perform well and make profits for the next few years.

I bought a bunch of it already yesterday and some more today with the fiat money I had. I had thought about converting some crypto profits but im not sure because i still think the crypto market has a chance of being bullish with us hitting new all time highs across the board June/July this year.

It's very strange to see a "normal" stock drop by this much in 1 day. It's weird to see ever see super volatile crypto drop 29% in a day. The huge drop is based on poor profits forecasts and predictions that high inflation will result in less consumer spending.

I think that Paypal will bounce back from this over the coming 6-18 months. I agree consumer spending dropping is bad for Paypal but I dont think inflation rates will increase as fast as people are thinking plus they are expanding into crypto and i support that.

Spotify - SPOT

-14%

image.png

I dont hold any of this but it dropping by 14% in a day could be a chance to invest if it's something you are interested in. I have completely no feeling toward Spotify at all. I have never used it as I have prime and get music from there and all I know is they are a subscription model, they pay artists an average rate and they paid Joe Rogan $100 million to move his podcast from youtube. I also understand they are losing music artists now because of Joe Rogan's thoughts on COVID. In my mind it's over schoolyard bullshit that will blow over in a few months time and snapping up some Spotify could work out nicely. Then again, it could have been super inflated to start with.

What do you think?

Is it a good time to buy the dip? are is there more blood to come? I've dumped a bunch into Paypal, fingers crossed it does well for me. Im good to hold it for a few years, I notice as a get older the things I hold that are worth the most are the things I've had the longest.

Are you even interested in stocks? I just companies I use and think will still be around 20-30 years times still making a profit. I dont really research them are anything, I just like building up another stack in a different asset class. I guess after I feel I have enough stocks, I will have to chase investment property are farming land.

Sort:  

I wouldn't be touching Facebook or Paypal with anyone's money. I think they are both likely to be disrupted and lose dominance in the future.

Maybe the Meta thing will give FB an opportunity to re-invent itself but it's a big gamble. There are better Metaverse plays out there.

I have 150 K in stocks but switched to value stocks already months ago, Banks are still cheap. (Discounted Cashflow method is terrible for some tech stocks when interest rate goes up further; the outcome is a ,uch lower price target).