Amazon AWS Has Issues, Half of the Web Stops – Blockchains, We Need You!

in #news7 years ago

Amazon has been experiencing problems with its AWS S3 cloud service, which means half of the web has problems, too. Some examples: Docker, Trello, Slack, Medium, Imgur, Giphy, Quora, even Steemit and Busy have problems showing images, while the articles are still online and accessible thanks for the blockchain technology.

Decentralization

This is a very good example to show that there are serious use cases behind the decentralization hype. Similar happened when Skype had issues and many businesses had to notice that their day to day operation is painfully dependent on one 3rd party, even if its name is Microsoft.

Hey, people, I know that the "cloud" is very fancy, new and shiny, but start used to the terms: blockchain; decentralization; peer-to-peer; consensus; cryptocurrency, -asset, -token; distributed autonomous organization; wisdom of the crowd; ddos immunity; attention, storage, computation economy; censorship immunity; chargeback immunity; and so on.

Amazon Is One of the Best...

OK, it's true, but it couldn't be your excuse when sh*t happens. Best or not, when there are problems with your service, the shame is on you. There are differences, though. A fan site wouldn't have as much damage as a messaging app with many excellent alternatives.

The competition is very tough on the web and it's still in the early phase. I could write the IoT in the previous list to show that where we are going to go here. Everything will be connected, and you couldn't bypass that. The capital will flow to this industry from many old one. If a company want to win here, where things are easy to copy, reliability could be a strong selling point. Amazon is reliable, but the expectations are growing continuously.

The Future

Successes of future technology like Steem are based on trust and reliability. This isn't a private asset like Amazon's technology, though. If you want to use it, it's there.
When I'm writing this, I know it will be on the chain forever. It's because my article is not separated from all the other contents. That's very important, because doesn't matter why someone find a reason to operate a node, my contents are also have a safer future for that reason. And there are many of them, the data on the chain is worth much and much with every second.
I don't even have to pay for the storage and the servers. Actually, I may get shares from this network if a shareholder (any Steem user) think my efforts worth more than zero, and I could sell the shares or hold them as I see fit.

Another example from the blockchain projects is MadeSafe, which uses a decentralized storage technology. There are others as well, I don't have interests or deep knowledge in any, I only mention it because it's in the top 10 by market capitalization and because I like Steem, but I'm not blind. I'm a clever fanboy (the type that I'd want for my future projects).

When these technologies and features will start to merge, it will be impossible to run a company like AWS (the same way), therefore the web won't have problems like this was.
It's not an end (will never be one) for smart companies. It's all about the evolution, the innovation.

Change is the only constant in life.
Whiners of past will fall, opportunist will win.
Easy game.


Follow, like, comment, reblog, share or PM me – the power is yours from now!
You could Send Me STEEM/SBD, or Buy Me a Coffee by fiat if you wish, however, any level and type of support is optional and fully voluntary. ♥

Sort:  

Maybe it just had to happen, but after going S3 down, my Storj disk multiplied by 10 its contracts.

Great post. Sometimes new and shiny is not best after all. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks!

I like new, shiny things, just they are using the term "decentralized cloud" too loosely.
The internet and the web was decentralized, cloud is more decentralized (what?), yet a single point of failure in a single company stops the half web.