You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Manna Coin: Universal Basic Income for realz!

in #news6 years ago (edited)

Well, I understand that it works like this: charities donated a bunch of money which was used to create a blockchain with 10 billion premined coins. These coins will be distributed weekly in small amounts to anyone who signs up and verifies their account. They say the supply will last maybe ten years, but I think they will be distributed much faster. The value of the coins will be determined by the free market. I think they are already being traded in small amounts on SouthXchange. I'm sure if the program has more success, that more exchanges will start to trade the coin.

I am also a big free market capitalist, but I think this a way for charities to use blockchain tech more than anything.

Sort:  

Good point. I'm all on board for spreading education about blockchain. The more people that know about it and how it works, the quicker we see adoption.