You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Next Prescription Drug Epidemic Is Already Here — and Nobody’s Talking About It

in #news6 years ago

I have been prescribed opiates since the late '90s, and have had to fight hard to keep my scrip. I've been forced to do without from time to time, and it sucked. Was bedridden once for four months.

I also have scrip for Xanax, for a few years now. I will confirm it's far more addictive, and withdrawal is unbelievable. After going through a rough patch, where I took Xanax for three days running, I returned to my SOP, which isn't to take it daily.

The withdrawal after only two days sent me to the doc. My skin hurt so bad I thought I might have picked up chiggers. I made the mistake of not tapering, and that was a life-threatening mistake.

Not a mistake I'll make again.

I can stop the opiates at any time. I'll suffer some from withdrawal (although I'll suffer far more from my injuries) but nothing like benzos. For folks wanting to stop taking them, don't make the same mistake I did. Taper.