Stereotypes in beauty and society that judges us

in #news5 years ago

Hello to the whole community of steemit, who speaks @yuneitsy, a strong cybernetic hug and a cordial greeting for all! Today I allow myself to pose a very interesting topic from my point of view leading to reflection, emphasizing the society so marked in which we are living, where the stereotypes of beauty are a fundamental part for many.

 Picture taken by: Chritopher García


A few days ago some cousins who live in another state of the country, were visiting my beautiful island and invited me to the beach, I could not refuse such a spectacular proposal since I am a lover of the sea, I love to enjoy nature and they came from so far, it was like a rudeness to deny them the way out. The truth was all very well, we were sharing very comfortable, telling stories of childhood, talking a little about the projects that each one has now and reached a point where some of them proposed to put us to the sea, at that time as usual I took off my clothes to be alone in a bathing suit and I caused a bit of intrigue that they did not, most of them were short and others did not take off their shirt, with that uncertainty without thinking much I ask: Why What do you think about bathing like that? The answer I got basically was that "they were fat," to which I am much more amazed because of all the more chubby was me, I laughed and asked them if they were crazy, that they were well like that, they looked at me and this one of them says to me: "is that you are chubby but you do not have stretch marks", I immediately responded saying that they would look at my belly, if I had and I was not sorry to show them. Seeing them a little uncomfortable with the situation, I decided to leave the conversation like that and not touch the subject anymore, but in my mind I kept thinking about those words. 


While at home, at bedtime, these memories came back to my mind and I began to think about all the restrictions that we put on ourselves by letting ourselves be led by a group of people who make us see that our body must be perfect for to be shown to the world, by this I mean that it was not that they wanted to bathe with clothes for fun but because they did not want to show the supposed kilos that others had. 

 
It was there where I came up with this post. What better idea to be able to contribute a little to the awareness and to transmit a teaching than through the internet, here on this platform used by a relevant number of people where I love creating contents that invite precisely to reflection and positivism. 

Going back to the subject and telling a little about my childhood, I've always been chubby. In fact, from a very young age in my family they nicknamed me so fondly that when I was about 13 years old and I was going to start the secondary stage, precisely because of all the bullying that could be generated, they decided to start calling me by my name when I was away from home, but I was so used to being called "fat or chubby" that when they called me by my name I did not react immediately, it was a bit difficult. I never bothered to be called fat and to this day they still do it and it is completely normal.


With this, what I want to say to you is that when you love yourself, respect and value yourself, this type of things should not affect you, having self-esteem is very important, but authenticity is much more essential and you will ask yourself: Why? 

 
I am a faithful supporter who often not only suffice to say that we have our own love, it is a matter of transmitting it. It's like when we try to sell a product that we say is very good, but even we are not capable of believing that this is true, beyond the power of conviction it is about transmitting what we are, how we want, see and feel. 


I'm not going to deny that, at some point in my life, I get to feel bad with my body and that like these cousins, I let myself be carried away by unhealthy comments, restricting me to do some things. Part of it was what motivated me to write it, to be a ray of light through so much vanity, because some person may be going through a moment of his life where he feels less, being a victim of bullying or social networks, being manipulated by what is often not even real, I say so, because even those girls who are super skinny and have a number of photos where they come out beautiful, with many likes and comments alluding to their beauty, are insecure themselves They do not love each other, nor do they value. 

 
When a pillar is very well constructed, it is difficult for it to be collapsed. Girls and boys, learn to accept ourselves in a world where appearances are more important, learn to control our emotions and not get carried away by this kind of things, is the beginning to a great stage of our lives. Yes, there are many ways to get rid of those little rubber bands with exercises or plastic surgeries, eliminate stretch marks, fix our nose, hair, lips, bust, among other things, but remember that none of this will work if we do not love our body, our essence, our being and I assure you that the day you start doing it you will see what I am saying and you will notice the change in their lives. 


Finally, remember, inner beauty is the most important, with the passing of the years the physical is lost and the essence as people is what is left to shine, let us feel safe each other in our own way, not be ashamed of our body, let us understand that beauty does not lie in the curves or in the cup of the bra, but in the fortune of being a woman. 

 
I thank the people who read and support me in this community, I would be happy to read your comments on the subject and know what they think. 


They are loved and appreciated, see you in a future post! 

Sort:  

Beauty can be a reflection of health. So, generally, if you are healthy, you will probably be beautiful as well. You look beautiful in your photo for example. Regardless of shape or size or any different things, people can be beautiful when they are organically healthy from the inside-out. I love your photo here. Upvoted. Resteemed.

That's right, your comment is completely correct. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion in this space for me it is a great pleasure. Best regards!

Awesome. You are awesome.

You do not look like someone chubby. In any case, there would be no problem, the propaganda of TV makes people question their appearance in an exaggerated way, because there are several industries that profit from that.

That's right, that's what I meant when I said that in the group the most "chubby" was me, however I could not help but perceive how society is being carried away by the uncontrolled marketing of what can be beauty or not. Thank you so much for sharing your opinion. Regards!