You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit, I interviewed former facebook ads guy...is this why Steemit & dTube will succeed?

in #news7 years ago

Very interesting video, I must admit that I had a lot of preconceived notions wrong about Facebook. Two main concerns pop up in my mind at the end of this video; one is that we oftentimes do not have a choice of when we are tracked, and two is how a technology like this can be adapted to domestically spy on people in the event of political unrest. That being said, being someone who has used Facebook since 2007 on and off, I feel like the ads are the least of the problem. I really wish the same technology that can determine what products I like would help lead people in my direction that I would like the same. The only reason I know about David Pakman is sheer luck, but surely an algorithm could have determined I would enjoy David Pakman content. I'd rather be advertised people than products.