You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Business of Blogging and How To Take Over The World

in #newsteem5 years ago

I either upvote posts that are:

  • Entertaining or interesting, this is subjective, but I think it's the main point of writing. Keep your niche and create new interest groups, but also, look at other popular topics to know your market. Also, if shared off-chain, it could help onboard and I've actually got a few people in this way.
  • get me curation rewards, this is due to the unique nature of Steem, hopefully, HF21 makes this more rewarding. People can attract more curators by waiting before using bots or self voting (if they have a big one). People should also market quickly by posting their link in their various places they do that ASAP.
  • add value to steem, this is a little difficult to gauge, but if I look at Steem as an investment, I want the price to rise and some posts may be good to the blockchain over all. I think you did very well in this part. Telling people it is easy is nonsense. Comparing it to a business makes more sense.
Sort:  

Entertainment. I'm using the term quite loosely in this post. Anything that's good enough to attract someones attention is entertainment in my books. I like to vote for things I find entertaining and interesting. I certainly wouldn't vote for something that failed to lure my eyes in, because I can't vote for it, didn't see it.

I probably miss too many posts that I would have liked to vote for. We're all spread thin though. I hope these changes alleviate some of that pressure.

Adding to value to steem. To me, anything that has the potential to draw outside eyes, in; those add value. 1500 of the same "Steemit's UI was upgraded today" post doesn't add much value. When someone says the value of a certain token shot up, that's outdated within an hour or two. Things like that I'll hold back on.

Sounds like you run a tight ship. That's good. Thanks for stopping by today.

It's obvious that you have really thought out your voting strategies. I like how you do it. I am also kinda bored at the Steem UI change - just resteem their post. Also, the price action ones are a little silly, these discussions are better for discord and the market usually reacts to anything important based on signals that are somewhat useless after 30 minutes and barely useful after 5 minutes. I prefer fundamental analysis to technical analysis for that reason. When I see charts and people discussing them, I usually avoid since computers can make the same decisions in split seconds.

The front ends may eventually get better and allow what we want to see and what interests us on top. Facebook and Google were getting really good at that until they put political bias into their algorithms. I see good things with Steempeak, but I don't use it enough for some reason.

I enjoy the well thought out crypto content. @heiditravels is someone I've followed for a long time. I usually enjoy her stuff; quite professional. Learned a lot from a few others as well.

Front ends will eventually improve. I've been online for decades. Facebook was ugly for quite a few years before they finally got their act together, only to ruin it.

I've read a lot of her posts and generally, they are great. I don't think Steem will be ruined as easily as Facebook. The problem with Facebook is it is barely customizable, so either you take it or leave it. Perhaps more so than blockchain, the rise of open source and even Android/Linux as an alternative to Windows and AppleOS did a lot for the PC and other devices. Block chain will all it to happen even more so because things that need to be accounted for and protected will be safe even if it looks wildly different.
Actually, one of my interests is a small crypto project called Quantstamp and they are looking into smart contact security. The stuff is way beyond me, but these types of contracts will definitely become more and more popular.

✊🏿

WARNING: IF YOU REPLY TO THIS ACCOUNT YOU WILL BE FLAGGED, YOUR REP HARMED AND ALL OF YOUR REWARDS REMOVED. DO NOT ENGAGE WITH THE TRASH. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

.

WARNING: IF YOU REPLY TO THIS ACCOUNT YOU WILL BE FLAGGED, YOUR REP HARMED AND ALL OF YOUR REWARDS REMOVED. DO NOT ENGAGE WITH THE TRASH. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

.

WARNING: IF YOU REPLY TO THIS ACCOUNT YOU WILL BE FLAGGED, YOUR REP HARMED AND ALL OF YOUR REWARDS REMOVED. DO NOT ENGAGE WITH THE TRASH. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

💅🏿

WARNING: IF YOU REPLY TO THIS ACCOUNT YOU WILL BE FLAGGED, YOUR REP HARMED AND ALL OF YOUR REWARDS REMOVED. DO NOT ENGAGE WITH THE TRASH. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

✊🏿

WARNING: IF YOU REPLY TO THIS ACCOUNT YOU WILL BE FLAGGED, YOUR REP HARMED AND ALL OF YOUR REWARDS REMOVED. DO NOT ENGAGE WITH THE TRASH. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

.

WARNING: IF YOU REPLY TO THIS ACCOUNT YOU WILL BE FLAGGED, YOUR REP HARMED AND ALL OF YOUR REWARDS REMOVED. DO NOT ENGAGE WITH THE TRASH. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

.

WARNING: IF YOU REPLY TO THIS ACCOUNT YOU WILL BE FLAGGED, YOUR REP HARMED AND ALL OF YOUR REWARDS REMOVED. DO NOT ENGAGE WITH THE TRASH. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

✊🏿

WARNING: IF YOU REPLY TO THIS ACCOUNT YOU WILL BE FLAGGED, YOUR REP HARMED AND ALL OF YOUR REWARDS REMOVED. DO NOT ENGAGE WITH THE TRASH. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED