MaMa Africa To Land of the Free - My first post!

in #newsteem7 years ago

Please feel free to speak back in French, Arabic, Soso, Peul (african dialects) etc!

My name is Mohamed Sy Savane. I grew Guinea, Conakry, West Africa. Growing up in a third world country is, of course, hard and difficult, and you have to grow up at a young age. However, it's my home, and where my mom is still. Lots of culture, music, dancing, fruit, food, and stories to come about Africa. Being my first post I'll keep it simple.

How I got here (the Land of the Free - USA): Moved to Senegal as an adolescent by myself to get my Visa and Green Card to be able to come live with my Dad in the US. I lived there for 6-8 months. From the help of my Dad, former Olympic runner for the 400 & 200 meter. Then, I was lucky enough to be granted a Visa by not giving up and trying to remain optimistic. The dream came true.

I got to the US when I was 15. I'd never met my Dad before. I was nervous and homesick! Thank God I was able to adapt and make friends quickly because of sports. I love basketball and soccer. I was living right outside of atlanta in Norcross, Georgia and went to Norcross High School where I played basketball. Blessed to be part of the best high school in Georgia with amazing athletes. From there went to prep school & college to play ball. Then I got hurt. I broke my patella.

Here I am in Atlanta, Georgia shortly after surgery, and currently focusing on recovery. Looking forward to sharing stories with you all, as well as hearing your own. Here to have fun, debate, joke, wish positivity upon other, just live life (no negative vibes!!) etc lol.

Feel free to comment back in different languages!

IMG_2061 (1).jpg

Sort:  

Awesome pic 🙌🏽 welcome to steem! ☺️

thank you!

A great post and introduction! Welcome to steemit. I saw your reply to one of my posts and came over to say high and see what was going on in your world. You have a new follower @thelastsage and I hope you find many more as well. Good luck in all your endeavors and I hope that knee injury don't slow you down to much!

Peace,
The Last Sage

Congratulations @mohamicide! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mohamicide! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mohamicide! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!