#NewToSteem

in #newtosteem6 years ago

Hi, my tag name is Jules63, or in real life Julian. I am from the UK, and moved to Cape Town with my previous partner some 20 years ago. I qualified as a dentist 40 years ago, then went into part-time research, and with my friend and mentor and other team members, we introduced the concept of using ozone into dental healthcare, so for some patients, a simple 20-30 second treatment would halt and reverse the effects of decay. My research lead to the formation of a couple of companies, GreyCellSales.com and AsanteSales.com. I also build web sites, and since my 'retirement' I buy and sell cryptocurrencies.
I have had a colourful life I think! I started at Sheffield University reading Geography and joined a US company called Armstrong Cork. I was sent to deep, cold, dark Scotland and made a lot of money in meeting my targets and bonuses. I then moved to North UK, and did the same in the north-east market area. I hooked up with Clive who I have now known for over 45 years and we exchanged information (and cases or wine as our prizes) until head office figured what we were doing. I had an open expense account and we maxed it on visiting every good food outlet in the North.
But my feet were restless, I married a fellow medical student, and we called Sheffield home. I went back to Medical School to read Dentistry. During those years we found Jen had breast cancer, and she sadly died soon after I qualified. I left the UK for a dental post in Gibraltar, when the practice and me made a lot of money. Our patients were mainly spanish who crossed the boarder as a village, did their duty-free shopping, and then sat in my chair. We were coining it as payment was all cash, and each week I would be in my bank negotiating a better exchange rate!
I remarried an english doctor, and as she was pregnant with our first child, we decided it was best to return to the UK. It was a great move for Kate, and she joined a lovely practice with a bunch of people who were honest and all great friends. I sadly joined a dental practice where the two older partners were only interested in maintaining the status quo, and who did not want to progress the practice. We soon fell out, and after a few moves, I open my own practice in Thames Valley in a 2-story converted office building. It flew, and soon we were in the top 10 of practices with a new technology called the Internet, and new patients came from around the globe. My team and me had a lot of fun, and we created smiles with implants, tooth whitening, ozone and lots of cutting-edge technologies.
I was invited to join a research team at Queens Belfast, and gradually my time out travelling, lecturing, running courses left me with reduced time to see patients. So I sold the practice, got divorced and moved home all in the same year - NOT the way to do it if you want to remain sane! My partner and I came to South Africa to have a Christmas away, and we wound up buying a home, and invested in a small rental property. Two years later, we decided to sell our UK home, and move here permanently.
When Heather died it shook me to my core as I expected to grow old with her. But sadly that was not meant to be, and I stayed. I met Ingrid, my current partner a few years after her death, and we bought and renovated an old property we call home, with our two children, two Jack Russell's.
Recently my health took a nose dive, and I now have a pacemaker to keep me alive, and I am on the heart transplant list at our famous Christian Bernard Hospital in Cape Town. Seems my guardian angles are not ready to let me go just yet! I run a couple of health care companies here, and I 'discovered' crypto currencies last year. I started to research them, and sat on the fence. Once I dived in, it is a 'job' I love and could do 24/7. I like making money, and I red an research a lot before a trade in a new coin or ICO. It is a fast moving market, but such great opportunities to make a retirement fund grown. I was recommended Steem Power, Steem Dollars and joined Steem. It is such a cool site a group of people to interact with. So here I am, wishing I was 30 years younger, and having the time of my life. Thanks to everyone who has helped to make this site and this project possible. Julian