aion

in #newtown6 years ago

Waze
alerted me to a route change.
It wanted me to head back down 87 South towards New York.
Odd. I was going to Boston.

Crossing the Mario Cuomo Bridge I got cynical;
opened a couple of days before the primary, the timing both predictable & impeccable.

On the Saw Mill, I mused about Connecticut.
Richest towns/deepest hoods:
Greenwich, Darien, New Haven, & Bridgeport.

The parkway was bucolic but sinister.
How many of these trees, colors not yet turned, were crawling with Lyme-infested ticks?
A PT Cruiser? Who the fuck buys a PT Cruiser?
I amused myself. Snarky. Why do they call subs and hoagies Grinders?
Grinder? Good Lord.

And an egg cream soda, please.
New England.

Waze guided me to a picturesque town. Tidy Colonials flanked both sides.
A sign on one said: “Life is Good.”
Another fronted an All-State Insurance Agency.
I imagined rigid zoning laws to prevent modern consumer commodity culture.

A massive American Flag flew in the center of a roundabout.

Then it hit me. Jesus. I was in Newtown.

I took a left. The sign read: Sandy Hook — one mile.
Night Fell; darkening soil; darkening sky.
I thought of my friend. Her child was there that day.
He waved to his buddy passing his first-grade class. His little buddy waved back, proud to know a “big boy.” He’d never wave again.
A shadow mask presented. Aion reborn.
Bowl cut; tortured eyes;
broken soul; mother; Mother!

I tried to imagine their last conversation. I intuited there wasn't one; feet stepped into a room, she turned, confused, "What...?"

The Blue Colony Diner was packed.
Monday nights are hopping.
They'd survived, but would never be whole.

Over I-84 hung a bloated, yellow, Aries moon.
Twenty babies, six adults, and a soul beyond redemption,
I stifled a thought and pushed the gas; time to get to Boston.

Sort:  

Congratulations @donallogue!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 10 with 5 comments

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on Steemit, consider to vote for my witness!

If you haven’t been here much lately, you might not know that there was a hard fork and a lot of people have had trouble either commenting or voting. Give it a few days to settle down and come back and wow us.

Glad you are back on! Looking forward to seeing your thoughts in my feed!

Who buys a PT Cruiser? Good question. They look even more out of place in the UK.

Drive safely

damn, that was some ouchy final stanzas, you are clearly traversing some dark avenues..... nice presentation as well, it feels like I was having your thoughts, which is a cool way to read. Or extra disconcerting, in this case! Impressive x